Seminars & Qualification

Aligning Organizations through Strategic Measurement

In today’s competitive markets, an organization must be able to establish well-suited goals and strategies, connect and communicate them to assure that all parts of the organization are working in the same direction, recognize when goals or strategies need to be changed, and understand the effects of those changes.

GQM+Strategies® is an approach for aligning organizations through strategic measurement. It enables an organization to consistently align goals and strategies across different units, make informed decisions based on measurement, transparently communicate goals and strategies within the organization, and objectively monitor goal attainment and the success/failure of the defined strategies.

The approach was originally developed for organizations with a strong focus on IT and the development of software-enabled systems, but its basic principles are generic and can be applied to any organization.

Goal of the seminar

This seminar presents the basic concepts and gives operational guidelines for implementing the approach. The approach is illustrated using a comprehensive application example and several real-life industrial cases.

This seminar is aimed at organizational leaders, managers, decision makers, and other professionals interested in strategic measurement.

Content of the seminar

Goal-oriented Measurement

  • Introduction and Motivation
  • Principles of Measurement (e.g., ISO/IEC 15939 and ISO/IEC 25010)
  • Goal-Oriented Measurement (GQM)

Exercise: Definition of Measurement Goals and GQM Abstraction Sheets

The GQM+Strategies® Approach

  • Building Alignment Grids
  • Improvement Cycles
  • Goal Definition
  • Strategy Derivation
  • Success Measurement
  • Comprehensive Example

Exercise: Definition of GQM+Strategies® Grids

Conclusions and Discussion

  • GQM+Strategies®: Pros and Cons
  • Cost of Alignment
  • Success Factors

Seminare

Unternehmensausrichtung durch strategische Messverfahren

Um sich von Wettbewerbern abzugrenzen, muss ein Unternehmen heutzutage in der Lage sein, passgenaue Ziele und Strategien zu definieren, diese aneinander auszurichten und zu kommunizieren. Dies ermöglicht es sicherzustellen, dass alle Teile des Unternehmens in die gleiche Richtung arbeiten, zu erkennen, wenn Ziele oder Strategien geändert werden müssen und die Auswirkungen solcher Änderungen zu verstehen.

Der GQM+Strategies®-Ansatz erleichtert das Ausrichten von Unternehmen mithilfe strategischer Messverfahren. Er ermöglicht die konsistente Ausrichtung von Zielen und Strategien über verschiedene Geschäftseinheiten hinweg und hilft, informierte Entscheidungen auf Basis von Messungen zu treffen, Ziele und Strategien innerhalb des Unternehmens transparent zu kommunizieren und die Zielerreichung sowie den Erfolg bzw. Misserfolg der definierten Strategien objektiv zu kontrollieren.

Der Ansatz wurde für Unternehmen mit starkem Fokus auf IT und auf der Entwicklung softwarebasierter Systeme konzipiert. Seine Grundprinzipien sind jedoch generisch auf jedes Unternehmen anwendbar.

Ziel des Seminars

Dieses Seminar präsentiert die grundlegenden Konzepte des Ansatzes und gibt praktische Anleitungen für die Umsetzung. Der Ansatz wird mithilfe eines durchgängigen Anwendungsbeispiels und mehrerer Industriestudien veranschaulicht.

Dieses Seminar richtet sich an Führungskräfte eines Unternehmens, Manager, Entscheidungsträger und andere Fachleute mit Interesse an strategischen  Messverfahren.

Inhalt des Seminars

Zielorientiertes Messen

  • Einführung und Motivation
  • Prinzipien des Messens (z.B. ISO/IEC 15939 und ISO/IEC 25010)
  • Zielorientiertes Messen (GQM)

Definition von Messzielen und GQM Abstraction Sheets

Der GQM+Strategies® Ansatz

  • Erstellen von Alignment Grids
  • Verbesserungszyklen
  • Zieldefinition
  • Strategieableitung
  • Erfolgsmessung
  • Anwendungsbeispiel

Definition von GQM+Strategies® Grids

Resümee und Diskussion

  • GQM+Strategies®: Vor- und Nachteile
  • Kosten des Ansatzes
  • Erfolgsfaktoren