Seminars

Defect Management and Prediction

Defects are one major cost driver in the development of software-based systems. A known fact in this area is that the later a defect is found in the development process, the more expensive it is to correct. In the worst case, failures of the system during use caused by defects may trigger huge costs and may result in human casualties.

Defect management and prediction is a common best practice in the area of engineering systems and software to allow controlling defects, to get transparency regarding where defects occur most often, to identify root causes of defects, and, finally, to predict the number of defects.

Goal of the seminar

This seminar gives a basic introduction to defect management and prediction. It presents common defect classification schemes and introduces two concrete approaches for finding defects earlier in the development process and predicting defect contents: Defect Flow Models support an organization in analyzing how many defects of which type have slipped through the quality assurance stages of its development process. HyDEEP is an approach for defect risk management and supports organizations in predicting defects at the planning stage of a development project based on historical data and expert knowledge.

Content of the seminar

Introduction to Defect Management

  • Motivation and Impact
  • Consequences of Software Failures
  • Effective Quality Management
  • Defect Classification
  • Defect Flow Models
  • Defect Prediction

Defect Classification

  • Terminology
  • Structures for Classification
  • IEEE Standard Scheme
  • Hewlett-Packard (HP) Scheme
  • Orthogonal Defect Classification (ODC)

Defect-Flow Modeling

  • Basic Defect Flow Models
  • Usage Scenarios for Extended Models
  • Implementing Defect Flow Models
  • Industrial Application Examples

Exercise: Creating a Defect Flow Model

Defect Prediction

  • Basic Approaches
  • HyDEEP Approach
  • Application Scenarios
  • Industrial Studies
  • HyDEEP Tooling

Summary and Conclusions

  • Benefits versus Cost
  • Lessons Learned

Seminare

Fehlermanagement und -vorhersage

Fehler gehören zu den Hauptkostentreibern bei der Entwicklung softwarebasierter Systeme. Es ist bekannt, dass Fehler umso teurer zu korrigieren sind, je später im Entwicklungsprozess sie gefunden werden. Im schlimmsten Fall können durch Fehler verursachte Ausfälle eines Systems zu enormen Kosten oder – bei sicherheitskritischen Systemen – sogar zum Verlust von Menschenleben führen.

Fehlermanagement und -vorhersage ist eine weit verbreitete Best Practice in der System- und Softwareentwicklung. Damit werden Fehler systematisch kontrolliert, Stellen, an denen sie am häufigsten auftreten, ermittelt und Ursachen identifiziert, und schließlich wird die Zahl der Fehler vorhergesagt.

Ziel des Seminars

Dieses Seminar bietet eine Einführung in die Grundlagen des Fehlermanagements und der Fehlervorhersage. Es präsentiert bekannte Fehlerklassifizierungsschemata sowie zwei konkrete Ansätze, wie sich Fehler früher im Entwicklungsprozess finden lassen und wie der Fehlergehalt vorhergesagt werden kann: Fehlerstrommodelle unterstützen ein Unternehmen dabei, zu analysieren, wie viele Fehler welchen Typs durch die Qualitätssicherungsphasen eines Entwicklungsprozesses rutschen. HyDEEP ist ein Ansatz für das Risikomanagement und unterstützt Unternehmen bei der Vorhersage von Fehlern in der Planungsphase eines Entwicklungsprojekts auf der Basis von historischen Daten und Expertenwissen.

Inhalt des Seminars

Einführung in das Fehlermanagement

  • Motivation und Auswirkungen
  • Konsequenzen von Softwareausfällen
  • Effektives Qualitätsmanagement
  • Fehlerklassifizierung
  • Fehlerstrommodelle
  • Fehlervorhersage

Fehlerklassifikation

  • Terminologie
  • Klassifizierungsstrukturen
  • IEEE Standardschema
  • Hewlett-Packard (HP) Schema
  • Orthogonal Defect Classification (ODC)

Fehlerstrommodellierung

  • Grundlagen von Fehlerstrommodellen
  • Einsatzszenarien für erweiterte Modelle
  • Implementierung von Fehlerstrom-modellen
  • Beispiele industrieller Anwendungen

Übung: Erstellung eines Fehlerstrommodells

Fehlervorhersage

  • Grundlegende Ansätze
  • Der HyDEEP-Ansatz
  • Anwendungsszenarien
  • Industriestudien
  • HyDEEP-Werkzeugunterstützung

Zusammenfassung und Resümee

  • Nutzen versus Kosten
  • Erkenntnisse