Seminars

Cost Estimation, Benchmarking, and Risk Assessment

Companies must be able to realistically budget and plan their software development projects. Since projects are typically afflicted with great uncertainties, there are planning risks right from the start. This is why it is important to be able to monitor cost-related risks and, if necessary, implement adequate countermeasures. Since not all products are the same, it is important to identify particularly those factors (cost drivers) that have a positive resp. negative impact on the productivity of a development project. The use of appropriate cost estimation approaches thus not only contributes to precise project planning and successful risk management; by enabling cost drivers to be mastered, it also leads to better processes and improves the overall maturity of the organization.

Goal of the seminar

This 2-day seminar teaches the basics of systematic effort estimation according to the CoBRA® approach for the development of risk-based effort estimation models. The approach is based on the knowledge of experienced project managers as well as on existing project data. Thanks to the systematic use of expert knowledge, CoBRA® (with its corresponding tool support CoBRIX) can even be used in situations where only very few data about completed projects are available in an organization.

Project managers and planners learn to create their own estimation models and to perform systematic effort estimation and risk management. In addition, the basics of functional software size measurement using the IFPUG Function Points approach as well as productivity measurement in the context of effort estimation are presented.

Content of the seminar

Fundamentals of cost and effort estimation

  • Why estimate effort and costs?
  • Frequent mistakes made in practice
  • Overview of estimation approaches (Delphi, CoCoMo, CART, Regression)
  • Which approach in which situation?

Functional software size measurement

  • Fundamentals of the Function Points method
  • IFPUG Function Points & COSMIC FFP
  • FP versus LOC
  • Productivity measurement

The CoBRA® approach

  • Development of the estimation model
  • Effort estimation
  • Risk management
  • Benchmarking
  • Deployment and maintenance

Exercise: the CoBRIX Tool

Summary

  • CoBRA®: Pros and Cons
  • Costs of effort estimation
  • Success factors

Seminare

Kostenschätzung, Benchmarking und Risikobewertung

Unternehmen müssen ihre Softwareentwicklungsprojekte realistisch budgetieren und planen können. Da Projekte typischerweise mit großen Unsicherheiten behaftet sind, bestehen von Anfang an Planungsrisiken. Daher ist es wichtig, kostenbezogene Risiken kontrollieren und ggf. adäquate Gegenmaßnahmen implementieren zu können. Da nicht alle Projekte gleich sind, kommt es darauf an, besonders die Faktoren (Kostentreiber) zu identifizieren, die einen positiven bzw. negativen Einfluss auf die Produktivität eines Entwicklungsvorhabens haben. Der Einsatz entsprechender Kostenschätzansätze trägt daher nicht nur zu präziser Projektplanung und erfolgreichem Risikomanagement bei, sondern über die Beherrschung der Kostentreiber auch zu besseren Prozessen und zur Gesamtreife des Unternehmens.

Ziel des Seminars

Dieses 2-tägige Seminar vermittelt die Grundlagen der systematischen Aufwandschätzung anhand des CoBRA®-Ansatzes für die Erstellung risikobasierter Aufwandschätzungsmodelle. Der Ansatz basiert auf dem Wissen erfahrener Projektmanager sowie auf bereits vorhandenen Projektdaten. Dank der systematischen Verwendung von Expertenwissen kann CoBRA® (mit der entsprechenden Werkzeugunterstützung CoBRIX) sogar in Situationen eingesetzt werden, in denen in einem Unternehmen nur sehr wenige Daten über vollendete Projekte vorhanden sind.

Projektmanager und Planer lernen, ihre eigenen Schätzmodelle zu erstellen und systematische Aufwandschätzung und Risikomanagement durchzuführen. Ferner werden die Grundlagen Funktionaler Größenmessung von Software mithilfe des IFPUG-Function-Point-Ansatzes sowie Produktivitätsmessung im Kontext von Aufwandschätzung behandelt.

Inhalt des Seminars

Grundlagen der Kosten- und Aufwandschätzung

  • Warum Aufwand und Kosten schätzen?
  • Häufige Fehler in der Praxis
  • Überblick über Schätzansätze (Delphi, CoCoMo, CART, Regression)
  • Welcher Ansatz in welcher Situation?

Funktionale Größenmessung von Software

  • Grundlagen der Funktionspunktemethode
  • IFPUG-Function-Points & COSMIC FFP
  • FP versus LOC
  • Produktivitätsmessung

Der CoBRA®-Ansatz

  • Entwicklung des Schätzmodells
  • Aufwandschätzung
  • Risikomanagement
  • Benchmarking
  • Einsatz und Wartung

Übung: Das CoBRIX Tool

Resümee

  • CoBRA®: Pros und Cons
  • Kosten der Aufwandschätzung
  • Erfolgsfaktoren