Change in Leadership at the Science Alliance Kaiserslautern

Presseinformation / 24.7.2015

In the context of a ceremony attended, among others, by Science Minister Vera Reiß, Prof. Dr. Helmut J. Schmidt officially transfers the chairmanship of the Science Alliance Kaiserslautern e.V. to Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Dieter Rombach, Institute Director Business Development of the Fraunhofer Institute IESE.

There has been a change in leadership at the Science Alliance Kaiserslautern e.V., which was now performed officially in the context of a ceremony attended, among others, by the Science Minister of Rhineland-Palatinate.

Prof. Dr. Helmut J. Schmidt, President of the University of Kaiserslautern, handed over the baton, quite literally, to Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Dieter Rombach, Institute Director Business Development of the Fraunhofer Institute IESE, in a ceremony held at the University of Kaiserslautern. In the presence of numerous representatives from government, business, and science, Schmidt praised the compact appearance and the willingness to cooperate of the institutions that have been members of the Science Alliance Kaiserslautern to date and talked about its history since its foundation in the year 2007. He particularly emphasized the new buildings erected by five member institutes along Trippstadter Straße in Kaiserslautern in the past few years, which partly characterize the external perception of the Science Alliance Kaiserslautern.

His wishes for his successor Rombach, whom he called one of the pioneer thinkers for the science hub Kaiserslautern, included a lot of success with new ideas and a fresh breeze, and the ability to fully exploit the potential that exists in this science alliance.

The new chairman wants to raise the Science Alliance Kaiserslautern to a new level in collaboration with all stakeholders. In the past few weeks, the alliance has already initiated several reforms. The constitution was modified and will soon allow companies seeking close contact with research and science to become members as well.

“My goal is to create a basis for closer interaction between university departments, institutes, research-related institutions, and high-tech companies to enable us to further strengthen the national and international visibility and clout of this location and as a result make it even more attractive for highly qualified students, employees, as well as industrial enterprises”, said Rombach.

Science Minister Vera Reiß underlined the high relevance of such institutions for Kaiserslautern and for all of Rhineland-Palatinate. “Knowledge and innovation alliances are a central ingredient of the state government’s innovation strategy. The Science Alliance Kaiserslautern impressively demonstrates how interdisciplinary research potential can be exploited through networking and how it can be made usable in practice. Let us not forget though that it has been the creative drive of the involved scientists to which Kaiserslautern owes the fact that it has evolved into an internationally visible and competitive science hub – a drive led first and foremost by Prof. Dr. Helmut J. Schmidt and Prof. Dr. Dieter Rombach. I thank Prof. Dr. Helmut J. Schmidt for his commitment and wish Prof. Dr. Dieter Rombach a lot of success for his new task. In order to further intensify the successful work of the Science Alliance, we have recently made another position available to the University of Kaiserslautern on a permanent basis”, stated the minister.

The Fraunhofer Institute for Experimental Software Engineering IESE
Fraunhofer IESE in Kaiserslautern is one of the worldwide leading research institutes in the area of software and systems engineering methods. A major portion of the products offered by its customers is defined by software. These products range from automotive and transportation systems via automation and plant engineering, energy management, information systems and health care to software systems for the public sector. The institute’s software and systems engineering approaches are scalable, which makes Fraunhofer IESE a competent technology partner for organizations of any size from small companies to major corporations.

Under the leadership of Prof. Peter Liggesmeyer and Prof. Dieter Rombach, the contributions of Fraunhofer IESE have been a major boost to the emerging IT hub Kaiserslautern for close to twenty years. In the Fraunhofer Information and Communication Technology Group, the institute is cooperating with other Fraunhofer institutes to develop trend-setting key technologies for the future.

Fraunhofer IESE is one of 66 institutes and research units of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft. Together they have a major impact on shaping applied research in Europe and contribute to Germany’s competitiveness in international markets.

About the Science Alliance Kaiserslautern e.V.
The Science Alliance Kaiserslautern e.V. is an association of internationally renowned educational and research institutions in Kaiserslautern. It offers students, scientists, and collaboration partners from business, public administration, and industry a cross-discipline network that makes it possible to develop innovative solutions taking into account state-of-the-art technologies and processes.

The members of the Science Alliance Kaiserslautern currently include the University of Kaiserslautern, the University of Applied Sciences Kaiserslautern, and nine research institutes, some of which are spin-offs from the University of Kaiserslautern. Further members include the Kaiserslautern Photonics Center, the Westpfalz-Klinikum, as well as the CVC Südwest. The city’s two technology ambassadors, Prof. Dr. Ralf Korn and Prof. Dr.-Ing. Norbert Wehn, are also members of the Science Alliance Kaiserslautern.

The Executive Board comprises Prof. Dr. Dr. Dieter Rombach as chairman of the Executive Board; Prof. Dr. Michael Kopnarski (IFOS) and Prof. Dr. Helmut J. Schmidt as deputy chairmen, as well as Prof. Dr.-Ing. Ulf Breuer (IVW) as treasurer. The executive director is Dr. Cornelia Blau (TU Kaiserslautern).