Digital Villages 3

Support for municipal political involvement

Which new opportunities does digitalization open up for our rural areas?

The “Digital Villages” project has been dedicated to answering this question since 2015. “Digital Villages 3” started in December 2019 as the third phase of the “Digital Villages” project.

In the third phase of the project, we, i.e., Fraunhofer IESE and the Rhineland-Palatinate Development Agency, are taking on the challenge of making municipal political involvement in rural areas more attractive again. This gave rise to the idea of developing a web application that municipal stakeholders can use to retrieve statistical data and recommendations for action in order to obtain support for making their decisions.

To make this possible, statistical data on municipalities in Rhineland-Palatinate is being collected and evaluated. This data is then used to group the municipalities into clusters, which are in turn compared with regard to various topic areas, such as demographics, digitalization, and future-proof municipal development. The data and findings are made available to municipal politicians via a web application. Based on these data and findings, political decisions can then be made more easily and in a more informed manner. In addition, a seminar concept is being developed and offered to the municipal stakeholders.

This is what Mr. Volker Klemm from the Rhineland-Palatinate Development Agency has to say:

“The Rhineland-Palatinate Development Agency has long maintained an intensive collaboration with the Fraunhofer Institute for Experimental Software Engineering IESE. And for good reason: Here, scientificity and methodological competence are combined with the motivation to conduct application-oriented research and to break new ground. Personally, I like working with Fraunhofer IESE because everything is right in the team, also in terms of communication. Respect!”

Volker Klemm, Rhineland-Palatinate Development Agency

Intention in the Project Digital Villages 3 #

Goal

The goal is to develop a web application to help municipal stakeholders make decisions based on existing data and insights derived from it.

Purpose

The lessons learned from the data in the project are intended to provide a solid basis for political work. The exchange with other municipal politicians is to be promoted.

Target Group

The project is aimed at municipal stakeholders such as mayors and council members in Rhineland-Palatinate municipalities.

Digitale Dörfer 3

Unterstützung des kommunalpolitischen Engagements

Welche neuen Chancen ergeben sich durch die Digitalisierung für unsere ländlichen Regionen?


Das Projekt »Digitale Dörfer« widmet sich seit 2015 dieser Frage. »Digitale Dörfer 3« ist im Dezember 2019 als dritte Phase des Projekts »Digitale Dörfer« gestartet.

Wir, das Fraunhofer IESE und die Entwicklungsagentur Rheinland-Pfalz, stellen sich in der dritten Phase des Projekts der Herausforderung, das kommunalpolitische Engagement in ländlichen Regionen wieder attraktiver zu gestalten. Daraus entstand die Idee, eine Web-Anwendung zu entwickeln, auf der kommunale Akteure statistische Daten und Handlungsempfehlungen abrufen können, um so Unterstützung für ihre Entscheidungsfindung zu erhalten.

Um dies zu ermöglichen, werden statistische Daten zu Kommunen in Rheinland-Pfalz gesammelt und ausgewertet. Anhand dieser Daten werden die Kommunen dann in Clustern zusammengefasst, welche wiederum hinsichtlich unterschiedlicher Themenfelder, wie Demografie, Digitalisierung und einer zukunftsfesten Kommunalentwicklung, miteinander verglichen werden. Die Daten und Erkenntnisse werden für Kommunalpolitikerinnen und -politiker über eine Web-Anwendung zugänglich sein. Auf Grundlage dieser Daten und Erkenntnisse können politische Entscheidungen einfacher und fundierter getroffen werden. Zudem wird ein Seminarkonzept entwickelt und den kommunalen Akteuren angeboten.

Das sagt Herr Volker Klemm von der Entwicklungsagentur Rheinland-Pfalz e.V.:

»Die Entwicklungsagentur Rheinland-Pfalz e. V. pflegt seit langem eine intensive Zusammenarbeit mit dem Fraunhofer-Institut für Experimentelles Software Engineering IESE. Und das aus gutem Grund: Hier verbinden sich Wissenschaftlichkeit und methodische Kompetenz mit der Motivation, anwendungsnah zu forschen und neue Wege zu gehen. Ich persönlich arbeite gern mit dem Fraunhofer IESE zusammen, weil im Team auch kommunikativ alles stimmt. Respekt!«

Volker Klemm, Entwicklungsagentur Rheinland-Pfalz e.V.

Intention im Projekt Digitale Dörfer 3

Ziel

Ziel ist es, eine Web-Anwendung zu entwickeln, um kommunalen Akteuren Entscheidungen auf Grundlage vorhandener Daten und daraus abgeleiteten Erkenntnissen zu erleichtern.

Zweck

Die Erkenntnisse, die im Projekt anhand der Daten gewonnen werden, sollen eine fundierte Grundlage für politisches Arbeiten liefern. Der Austausch mit anderen Kommunalpolitikerinnen und -politikern soll gefördert werden.

Zielgruppe

Das Projekt richtet sich an kommunale Akteure wie Bürgermeisterinnen und Bürgermeister sowie Ratsmitglieder in rheinland-pfälzischen Kommunen.