Novel Sensor Technology

High-resolution measurement data from airborne or ground-based systems for automated interpretation and decision support.

Biosphere Monitoring – Novel Sensor Technology

For a more comprehensive understanding of cause-effect relationships, different scales regarding both geographical distances and the periods of time considered must be integrated. This is the only way to identify and describe local and remote as well as direct and delayed effects in the biosphere.

This purpose requires the collection of comprehensive data. However, information needed to better understand interrelationships is frequently missing. With appropriate sensors and cognitive analytics, it will be possible to close this gap in the future. In the context of this projects, sensor concepts will therefore be developed further in accordance with the requirements in agricultural technology and raw data will be processed for use in application processes.

This includes, for example, the use of agricultural sensor technology for:

  • seismic imaging of soil compaction,
  • analysis of soil nitrogen content,
  • classification of soil areas and vegetation by hyper- and multi-spectral optical methods.

This will lead to the development of methods for soil parameters that cannot be measured yet to date, but which are essential for the planning of agricultural activities.

The data of these airborne and ground-based sensors will be combined with data from existing measurement systems as well as with remote sensing, weather, and yield data. This will provide a comprehensive amount of data for automated interpretation and decision support for different time horizons.

Contact for Biosphere Monitoring – Novel Sensor Technology

Fraunhofer Institute for Ceramic Technologies and Systems IKTS

Michael-Faraday-Straße 1

07629 Hermsdorf, Germany

Dr. Ingolf Voigt

Phone +49 36601 9301-62618

Neuartige Sensorik

Hochaufgelöste Messdaten aus luft- oder bodengestützten Systemen für eine automatisierte Interpretation und Entscheidungsunterstützung.

Biosphärenmonitoring – neuartige Sensorik

Zu einem umfassenderen Verständnis von Wirkzusammenhängen sind unterschiedliche Skalen sowohl der geografischen Entfernungen als auch der betrachteten Zeiträume zu integrieren. Nur so lassen sich Nah- und Fernwirkungen und unmittelbare und verzögerte Wirkungen in der Biosphäre erkennen und beschreiben.

Zu diesem Zweck müssen umfassende Daten erfasst werden. Vielfach fehlen jedoch die nötigen Informationen, um Zusammenhänge besser zu verstehen. Mit geeigneten Sensoren und kognitiver Analytik lässt sich diese Lücke zukünftig schließen. Im Rahmen des Projekts werden deshalb Sensorkonzepte gemäß den Anforderungen in der Landtechnik weiterentwickelt und Rohdaten für den Einsatz in Anwendungsprozessen aufbereitet.

Dazu gehört beispielsweise der Einsatz von Agrarsensorik zur:

  • seismischen Bildgebung von Bodenverdichtungen,
  • Analyse von Bodenstickstoffgehalt,
  • Klassifikation von Bodenflächen und Bewuchs durch hyper- und multispektrale optische Verfahren.

Damit werden Verfahren für bisher nicht messbare, aber für die Planung landwirtschaftlicher Aktivitäten wesentliche Bodenparameter entwickelt.

Die Daten dieser luft- und bodengestützten Sensoren werden mit denen bereits verfügbarer Messsysteme sowie mit Fernerkundungs-, Wetter- und Ertragsdaten verknüpft. Damit wird eine profunde Datenmenge zur automatisierten Interpretation und Entscheidungsunterstützung auf unterschiedlichen Zeithorizonten bereitgestellt.

Ansprechpartner für Biosphärenmonitoring – neuartige Sensorik

Fraunhofer-Institut für Keramische Technologien und Systeme IKTS

Michael-Faraday-Straße 1

07629 Hermsdorf

Dr. Ingolf Voigt

Telefon +49 36601 9301-62618