Fraunhofer lighthouse project “Cognitive Agriculture”

Development of a comprehensive information-based ecosystem for the agricultural sector

Fraunhofer lighthouse project “Cognitive Agriculture”

Digitalization as an opportunity for the agricultural sector

Industrialization has had a strong impact on agricultural technology in recent decades. Increasingly larger working widths and speeds as well as increasing degrees of automation have led not only to a significant rise in productivity, but also to heavier machines. Fertilization, excessive use of herbicides, pesticides, and fungicides, or various types of genetically modified seeds also cause permanent damage to the biosphere. Organic agriculture has evolved as an alternative. Here, the focus is on resource-friendly farming, and productivity losses are accepted deliberately. According to the United Nations‘ Agenda 2030 for “food security and sustainable agriculture”, sustainability and productivity shall be balanced worldwide. The Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft’s new lighthouse project “Cognitive Agriculture” is in line with this goal.

With Fraunhofer towards highly efficient and sustainable agriculture of the future   

In the Fraunhofer lighthouse project “Cognitive Agriculture” (“COGNAC” for short), eight Fraunhofer Institutes are doing joint research on basic principles that will enable farmers to achieve high productivity in line with further goals such as sustainability or product quality in our digitalized world. A uniform value system shall reflect decisions regarding the key aspects sustainability, resource efficiency, costs, and product quality. For this purpose, data on factors related to the agricultural enterprise and to the environment must be collected automatically with state-of-the-art sensor technology and must be evaluated, analyzed, and processed cognitively in agricultural work and business processes in order to make sustainable, fact-based decisions regarding both crop production and livestock farming.

In the lighthouse project “COGNAC”, the participating Fraunhofer Institutes will design and implement an integrated platform for information-based (cognitive) agriculture. The goal is to connect the numerous isolated solutions and make them usable as a whole from end to end in order to achieve maximum productivity and sustainability. The value chain begins with crop production and livestock farming, but also includes further process and processing steps in the long term.

The project is therefore expected to deliver crucial innovations in the three areas “Agricultural Data Space”, “Novel Sensor Technology”, and “Innovative Automation Concepts”.

Innovation areas in the Smart Farming project “Cognitive Agriculture”

 

Digital Ecosystem

Agricultural Data Space

Open data exchange in an agriculture-specific, digitally networked ecosystem that enables the use and linking of complex agricultural data in secure data spaces.

 

Biosphere Monitoring

Novel Sensor Technology

Automated interpretation and decision support based on high-resolution measurement data from airborne or ground-based systems.

 

Autonomous Field Robotics

Innovative Automation Concepts

Autonomous field robotics for plant-specific field work as well as robot-guided sensor platforms with specific sensor systems.

News about the Fraunhofer lighthouse project “Cognitive Agriculture” from the area of Smart Farming

Prof. Dr. Reimund Neugebauer, President of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, about the project:

Prof. Dr. Reimund Neugebauer, President of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft

“Agricultural technology is not only a branch of industry that is essential for our society – it is also a progressive, highly innovative industry. The use of state-of-the-art information technologies has great potential for making agricultural processes even more efficient in the future”, explains Fraunhofer President Prof. Reimund Neugebauer.

“In our new lighthouse project, eight Fraunhofer Institutes have joined forces to use innovative automation concepts and novel sensor technology to build a data-based ecosystem that shall become a milestone in digitalized agriculture. In this way, digital technologies, new research approaches, and the problem-solving competence of Fraunhofer can become the enablers of highly efficient and at the same time sustainable agriculture of the future.”

 

 

Contact persons of the Fraunhofer lighthouse project “Cognitive Agriculture”

Peter Liggesmeyer

Contact Press / Media

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Peter Liggesmeyer

Director Fraunhofer IESE
Project Manager “Cognitive Agriculture”

Fraunhofer-Platz 1
67663 Kaiserslautern, Germany

Phone +49 631 6800-1101

Fax +49 631 6800-1099

  • Send email
Ralf Kalmar

Contact Press / Media

Ralf Kalmar

Business Area Manager
Contact for Smart Farming
Contact for ”Cognitive Agriculture”

Fraunhofer-Platz 1
67663 Kaiserslautern, Germany

Phone +49 631 6800-1603

Fax +49 631 6800-9-1603

  • Send email

Fraunhofer-Leitprojekt »Cognitive Agriculture«

Schaffung eines umfassenden informationsbasierten Ökosystems für den Agrarbereich

Fraunhofer-Leitprojekt »Cognitive Agriculture«

Digitalisierung als Chance für die Landwirtschaft

 

Die Industrialisierung hat auch die Landtechnik in den vergangenen Jahrzehnten stark geprägt. Immer größere Arbeitsbreiten und -geschwindigkeiten sowie steigende Automatisierungsgrade haben nicht nur die Produktivität, sondern auch das Maschinengewicht drastisch erhöht. Auch führen Düngung, übermäßiger Einsatz von Herbiziden, Pestiziden und Fungiziden oder verschiedene Arten gentechnisch veränderten Pflanzgutes zu bleibenden Schädigungen der Biosphäre. Als Alternative dazu hat sich der Ökolandbau entwickelt. Hier steht die ressourcenschonende Landwirtschaft im Vordergrund und man nimmt dabei bewusst Einbußen hinsichtlich der Produktivität hin. Mit der Agenda 2030 der UNO für »Ernährungssicherheit und nachhaltige Landwirtschaft« weltweit sollen Nachhaltigkeit und Produktivität in Einklang gebracht werden. Mit diesem im Einklang steht das neue Leitprojekt »Cognitive Agriculture« der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft.

 

Mit Fraunhofer zur hocheffizienten und nachhaltigen Landwirtschaft der Zukunft  

 

Im Fraunhofer-Leitprojekt »Cognitive Agriculture« (kurz: »COGNAC«) for­schen acht Fraunhofer-Institute gemein­sam an Grundlagen, die dem Landwirt in einer digitalisierten Welt hohe Produkti­vität im Einklang mit weiteren Zielen wie Nachhaltigkeit oder Produktqualität er­möglichen. Ein einheitliches Wertesystem soll Ent­scheidungen hinsichtlich der Schlüsselas­pekte Nachhaltigkeit, Ressourceneffizienz, Kosten und Produktqualität abbilden. Hierzu müssen Daten zu Faktoren des Agrarbetriebs und der Umwelt automati­siert mit hochmoderner Sensorik erfasst, in landwirtschaftlichen Arbeits- und Ge­schäftsprozessen ausgewertet, analysiert und kognitiv verarbeitet werden, sodass nachhaltige faktenbasierte Entscheidun­gen im Umgang mit der Feldarbeit und Viehhaltung getroffen werden können.

Im Leitprojekt »COGNAC« werden die beteiligten Fraunhofer-Institute eine integ­rierte Plattform für die informationsbasier­te (kognitive) Landwirtschaft konzipieren und realisieren. Ziel ist es, die zahlreichen Insellösungen anzubinden und als Gan­zes durchgängig nutzbar zu machen, um höchste Produktivität und Nachhaltigkeit zu erreichen. Die Wertschöpfungskette beginnt bei der landwirtschaftlichen Er­zeugung und Viehzucht, schließt aber perspektivisch weitere Prozessschritte und Verarbeitungsschritte mit ein.

Das Projekt soll daher in den drei Bereichen »Agricultural Data Space«, »Neuartige Sensorik« und »Innovative Automatisierungskonzepte« entscheidende Innovationen liefern.

 

Innovationsbereiche im Smart Farming Projekt »Cognitive Agriculture«

 

Digitales Ökosystem

Agricultural Data Space

Offener Datenaustausch in einem agrarspezifischen, digital vernetzten Ökosystem zur Nutzung und Verknüpfung komplexer Daten der Landwirtschaft in sicheren Datenräumen.

 

Biosphärenmonitoring

Neuartige Sensorik

Auf Basis hochaufgelöster Messdaten aus luft- oder bodengestützten Systemen automatisierte Interpretation und Entscheidungsunterstützung.

 

Autonome Feldrobotik

Innovative Automatisierungskonzepte

Autonome Feldrobotik für pflanzenspezifische Feldarbeit sowie als robotergeführte Sensorikplattformen mit spezifischen Sensorsystemen.

Aktuelles zum Fraunhofer-Leitprojekt »Cognitive Agriculture« aus dem Bereich Smart Farming

Prof. Dr. Reimund Neugebauer, Präsident der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, über das Projekt:

Prof. Dr. Reimund Neugebauer, Präsident der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft

»Die Landtechnik ist nicht nur ein für unsere Gesellschaft essentieller Wirtschaftszweig – sie ist auch eine fortschrittliche, hochinnovative Branche. Der Einsatz moderner Informationstechnologien birgt großes Potenzial, die Prozesse in der Landwirtschaft künftig noch effizienter zu gestalten«, erläutert Fraunhofer-Präsident Prof. Reimund Neugebauer.

»In unserem neuen Leitprojekt haben sich acht Fraunhofer-Institute zusammengeschlossen, um mithilfe innovativer Automatisierungskonzepte und neuartiger Sensorik ein datenbasiertes Ökosystem aufzubauen, das zu einem Meilenstein in der digitalisierten Landwirtschaft werden soll. Digitale Technologien, neue Forschungsansätze und die Problemlösungskompetenz von Fraunhofer können auf diese Weise die Enabler einer hocheffizienten und zugleich nachhaltigen Landwirtschaft der Zukunft werden.«

Ansprechpartner des Fraunhofer-Leitprojekts »Cognitive Agriculture«

Peter Liggesmeyer

Contact Press / Media

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Peter Liggesmeyer

Institutsleiter Fraunhofer IESE, Projektleitung »Cognitive Agriculture«

Fraunhofer-Platz 1
67663 Kaiserslautern

Telefon +49 631 6800-1100

Fax +49 631 6800-1099

Ralf Kalmar

Contact Press / Media

Ralf Kalmar

Business Area Manager, Ansprechpartner Smart Farming, »Cognitive Agriculture«

Fraunhofer-Platz 1
67663 Kaiserslautern

Telefon +49 631 6800-1603

Fax +49 631 6800-9-1603

  • E-Mail senden