UID4Mobile

Scalable User Interface Design for Mobile Applications

Mobile business applications (apps) are ubiquitous in our daily lives today. In our private lives, we use apps in online banking, at airports and train stations when we travel, when we explore our current environment, or when we enjoy multimedia entertainment. In our jobs, apps increasingly support us in performing our workflows. An organization’s presence in app markets such as Apple App Store, Google Play Store, or Windows Marketplace is often already expected as a given, and has an impact on a company’s image. The app markets are growing continually, and the challenge is to stand out positively from the crowd.

One major success factor for apps is therefore very high user experience and availability in all relevant app stores, if possible. These are the reasons why two tools were developed in the project UID4Mobile to design apps for different mobile platforms efficiently and with a large degree of platform-specific UX:

I2ME Framework (Interactive Mockup Building for Mobile Environments)

The i2ME framework allows fast and efficient development of cross-platform, interactive mockups during the design of an app. It focuses on quickly and effectively developing mockups that can be tested by the user on his device.

Mobile User Experience Pattern

Mobile user experience patterns support the design of apps for various platforms as well as the transfer of an app from one platform to others, taking into account platform standards and positive user experience.

UID4Mobile

Skalierbares User Interface Design für mobile Applikationen

Mobile Geschäftsanwendungen (Apps) sind heute allgegenwärtig in unserem täglichen Leben. Im privaten Umfeld sind wir beispielsweise beim Online-Banking, auf Reisen am Flughafen und an Bahnhöfen, bei der Exploration unserer aktuellen Umgebung oder bei der multimedialen Unterhaltung in Kontakt mit Apps. Im Beruf werden wir von Apps immer stärker bei der Durchführung unserer Arbeitsabläufe unterstützt. Die Präsenz eines Unternehmens in App-Märkten wie Apple App Store, Google Play Store oder dem Windows Marketplace wird oftmals bereits vorausgesetzt und hat Einfluss auf das Image eines Unternehmens. Die App-Märkte wachsen kontinuierlich und es gilt, positiv aus der Menge herauszustechen.

Ein maßgeblicher Erfolgsfaktor für Apps ist daher eine sehr hohe User Experience und Verfügbarkeit in möglichst allen relevanten App Stores. Aus diesen Gründen wurden im Projekt UID4Mobile daher zwei Werkzeuge entwickelt, um Apps für unterschiedliche mobile Plattformen effizient und mit einem hohen Maß an plattformspezifischer UX zu gestalten:

I2ME Framework (Interactive Mockup Building for Mobile Environments)

Das i2ME Framework ermöglicht die schnelle und effiziente Erstellung von plattformübergreifenden, interaktiven Mockups während der Konzeption einer App. Es fokussiert darauf, schnell und effektiv Mockups zu erstellen, die vom Benutzer auf dem Endgerät getestet werden können.

Mobile User Experience Pattern

Mobile User Experience Pattern unterstützen die Konzeption von Apps für verschiedene Plattformen sowie die Übertragung einer App von einer Plattform auf andere unter Berücksichtigung von Plattformstandards und positiver User Experience.