SOFTWARE-CLUSTER

SWINNG – Process Innovations in the Software Industry

How do very diverse organizations collaborate in a cluster network? Which demands exist in industry regarding emergent software? What is necessary for emergent software to be successful on the market? How can emergent software become a megatrend?

To answer these and other questions, a multitude of empirical methodologies is used. For about three years, Fraunhofer IESE has been pursuing these issues in the project SWINNG – Process Innovations in the Software Industry – and has been collaborating with 15 partners from industry and academia. By means of surveys, interviews, online studies, and group workshops, each issue and target group is addressed individually, and valuable information for the further development of the Software-Cluster itself as well as for the further development of emergent software is made available. In total, three needs analyses, two network studies, and one study on emergent software as a megatrend have been implemented so far.

Structuring Technique: Making Trends and Strategies Visible

In order to analyze which factors have an impact on the economic success of emergent software, the structuring technique was employed in the context of a megatrend workshop. The goal was to identify impact factors, prerequisites, supporting or opposing trends (of a technological, social, political, or economic nature), as well as their dependencies for emergent software. The structuring technique allows expert knowledge to be quickly structured, condensed, and used for strategic decisions. From the workshop, a total of six correlations emerged that have an impact on the success of emergent software: Internet availability (“Internet everywhere”), Cloud technologies, standardization of software interfaces, continuing education of professionals and managers, security in information processing and transmission (privacy), as well as the market potential of custom-tailored software for small and medium-sized enterprises.

Funded by

SOFTWARE-CLUSTER

SWINNG – Prozessinnovationen in der Software-Industrie

Wie arbeiten verschiedenste Organisationen in einem Clusternetzwerk miteinander? Welche Bedarfe bestehen in der Wirtschaft an emergenter Software? Was ist notwendig, damit emergente Software am Markt Erfolg hat? Wie kann emergente Software ein Megatrend werden?

Zur Beantwortung dieser und weiterer Fragen wird eine Vielfalt an empirischen Methodiken eingesetzt. Seit etwa drei Jahren geht das Fraunhofer IESE diesen Fragen im Projekt SWINNG – Prozessinnovationen in der Software-Industrie – nach und arbeitet dabei mit 15 Partnern aus Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft zusammen. Mithilfe von Befragungen, Interviews, Online-Studien und Gruppenworkshops wird auf jede Fragestellung und Zielgruppe individuell eingegangen und es werden wertvolle Informationen sowohl für die Weiterentwicklung des Software-Clusters selbst als auch für die Weiterentwicklung emergenter Software bereitgestellt. Insgesamt wurden bisher drei Bedarfsanalysen, zwei Vernetzungsstudien und eine Studie zum Megatrend emergente Software umgesetzt.

Strukturlegetechnik: Trends und Strategien sichtbar machen

Um zu analysieren, welche Faktoren auf den wirtschaftlichen Erfolg emergenter Software Einfluss nehmen, wurde im Rahmen eines Megatrendworkshops die Strukturlegetechnik eingesetzt. Ziel war es, Einflussfaktoren, Voraussetzungen, unterstützende oder gegenläufige Trends (technologischer, gesellschaftlicher, politischer, wirtschaftlicher Art) sowie deren Abhängigkeiten für emergente Software zu identifizieren. Mithilfe der Strukturlegetechnik ist es möglich, in kurzer Zeit Expertenwissen zu strukturieren, zu verdichten und für strategische Entscheidungen zu nutzen. Aus dem Workshop kristallisierten sich insgesamt sechs Wirkzusammenhänge heraus, die einen Einfluss auf den Erfolg emergenter Software haben: Internetverfügbarkeit (»Internet everywhere«), Cloud-Technologien, Standardisierung von Softwareschnittstellen, Ausund Weiterbildung von Fach- und Führungskräften, Sicherheit in der Informationsverarbeitung und -vermittlung (Datenschutz) sowie das Marktpotenzial von maßgeschneiderter Software für kleine und mittelständische Unternehmen.

Gefördert vom

Förderkennzeichen: 01IC10S05I