SECCRIT

SEcure Cloud computing for CRitical infrastructure IT

Requirements on the Cloud, such as high levels of availability, resilience, and IT security, are indispensable for the use of Cloud technologies in the area of critical infrastructures, as is the guarantee that these will actually be delivered. However, the guaranteed implementation of these requirements continues to present a challenge.

The correct specification of security policies is an error-prone process and can often only be performed by security experts in collaboration with domain experts. In addition, suitable tools for specifying security policies in a simple and user-friendly manner are currently still missing. Furthermore, existing security solutions do not dynamically adapt to the current usage context, which can result in suboptimal behavior of the Cloud environment. Undifferentiated treatment may ultimately lead to insecure service delivery.

Among other things, Fraunhofer IESE is performing research into how context-dependent security policies can be specified in a simple and user-friendly manner on the one hand and enforced in established Cloud environments on the other hand. Here, an interesting research question is which context information must be exchanged between the infrastructure and the service level to enforce security policies dynamically. For example, it is possible to define security policies that require the separation of critical or competing services, that enforce the storage of data in a particular place, or that only allow migration of services within Europe.

The goal is to adapt the components of the IND²UCE framework to Cloud technologies and to integrate them into these. With the help of specific components of the IND²UCE framework, context information from different levels of abstraction, for example, are brought together and security decisions are made in a context-sensitive way. To reduce complexity during specification, templates for security policies are also created in the application domains being considered. In this regard, a uniform taxonomy is to be used as a basis. In the context of the research, a Cloud testing environment (Cloud Lab) is being set up at Fraunhofer IESE.

Gefördert von

SECCRIT

SEcure Cloud computing for CRitical infrastructure IT

Anforderungen an die Cloud wie hohe Verfügbarkeit, Widerstandsfähigkeit und IT-Sicherheit, aber auch deren garantierte Erbringung sind für die Nutzung von Cloud-Technologien im Bereich der kritischen Infrastrukturen unerlässlich. Allerdings stellt die garantierte Umsetzung dieser Anforderungen weiterhin eine Herausforderung dar.

Die korrekte Spezifikation von Sicherheitsrichtlinien ist ein fehleranfälliger Prozess und kann oftmals nur von Sicherheitsexperten gemeinsam mit Domänenexperten durchgeführt werden. Zudem fehlen zurzeit geeignete Werkzeuge, um Sicherheitsrichtlinien einfach und benutzerfreundlich zu spezifizieren. Ferner passen sich aktuelle Sicherheitslösungen nicht dynamisch an den aktuellen Nutzungskontext an, was zu einem suboptimalen Verhalten der Cloud-Umgebung führen kann. Eine undifferenzierte Behandlung kann letztlich zu einer unsicheren Diensterbringung führen.

Das Fraunhofer IESE erforscht unter anderem, wie sich kontextabhängige Sicherheitsrichtlinien einerseits einfach und benutzerfreundlich spezifizieren und andererseits in etablierten Cloud- Umgebungen durchsetzen lassen. Eine interessante Forschungsfrage hierbei ist, welche Kontextinformationen zwischen Infrastruktur und Dienstebene ausgetauscht werden müssen, um Sicherheitsrichtlinien dynamisch durchzusetzen. Beispielsweise können Sicherheitsrichtlinien definiert werden, welche die Trennung von kritischen oder konkurrierenden Diensten erfordern, die Speicherung von Daten an einem bestimmten Ort erzwingen oder die Migration von Diensten nur innerhalb Europas erlauben.

Ziel ist es, Komponenten des IND²UCE Frameworks an Cloud-Technologien anzupassen und in diese zu integrieren. Mittels spezifischer Komponenten des IND²UCE Frameworks sollen zum Beispiel Kontextinformationen unterschiedlicher Abstraktionsebenen zusammengeführt und Sicherheitsentscheidungen kontextsensitiv getroffen werden. Zur Reduzierung der Komplexität bei der Spezifikation werden ferner in den betrachteten Anwendungsdomänen Schablonen für Sicherheitsrichtlinien erstellt. Dabei soll eine einheitliche Taxonomie zu Grunde gelegt werden. Im Rahmen der Forschungsarbeiten wird eine Cloud-Testumgebung (Cloud-Labor) am Fraunhofer IESE aufgebaut.

Gefördert von