Insiders Technologies GmbH

Positive User Experience – Interaction Design

Insiders Technologies GmbH offers intelligent products and solutions centering on input management for optimizing document-related business processes. Business-relevant information from documents is analyzed in a needs- and media-appropriate manner and made available in a company in whichever way required by the input channel and subsequent business events.

With “smart Cockpit”, a new product has been developed for monitoring a company’s business processes. It is not only about sub-processes relating to document management, but about entire business processes, including both prior and subsequent sub-processes. “smart Cockpit” allows companies to recognize problems early on and take appropriate actions.

Fraunhofer IESE supported Insiders Technologies in the development of an innovative interaction design for “smart Cockpit” that is tailored to the needs of the customers, allows high usability, and promotes a positive User Experience.

Using the Fraunhofer IESE requirements methodology Satisfy, the first step was to elicit the strategic goals to be pursued with the new product. These then served as an important contribution to the elicitation of the requirements on the interaction design. In accordance with the principle of permanent customer dialog at Insiders Technologies, a workshop was then organized together with a working group consisting of representative customers and users in order to also capture the customer perspective. By using various creativity techniques especially combined for this situation (e.g., Lotus Blossom, Brainwriting, Remember the Future, Product Box), expectations as well as innovative features and quality requirements for the new product from the customer perspective were elicited in a relaxed atmosphere and prioritized initially. Afterwards the requirements were consolidated and categorized.

Based on the requirements voiced by management and those taken from the customer view, the Fraunhofer IESE UXelerate methodology was then used to determine the basic interaction concepts. In order to evaluate these designs as soon as possible, paper prototypes were created for selected use cases. These were evaluated in the Wizard-of-Oz mode together with Insiders Technologies, and improvement suggestions were collected.

For the evaluation of the interaction design by the working group of customers and users, the prototype tool Microsoft Expression Blend SketchFlow was used to create an executable lowfidelity prototype for the selected use cases, which was then evaluated during another workshop.

With the individual method selection, the consistent inclusion of customers and users, and the permanent evaluation of the intermediate results, an innovative interaction design was developed that appeals to both Insiders Technologies and its customers.

Customer's statement

»The methodological procedure as well as the creativity techniques of Fraunhofer IESE convinced and inspired both us and our customers, whom we could motivate in the context of a working group to participate in the development of the new product.«

Dr.-Ing. Michael Gillmann, Product Manager, Insiders Technologies GmbH

Insiders Technologies GmbH

Positive User Experience – Entwicklung eines Interaktionskonzepts

Die Insiders Technologies GmbH bietet intelligente Produkte und Lösungen rund um das Input-Management, um dokumentbezogene Geschäftsprozesse zu optimieren. Dabei werden geschäftsrelevante Informationen aus Dokumenten bedarfs- und mediengerecht analysiert und im Unternehmen bereitgestellt und zwar so, wie es der Eingangskanal und nachfolgende Geschäftsvorfälle erfordern.

Mit »smart Cockpit« wurde ein neues Produkt entwickelt, um die Geschäftsprozesse eines Unternehmens zu überwachen. Dabei geht es nicht nur um die Teilprozesse, die das Dokumentenmanagement betreffen, sondern um vollständige Geschäftsprozesse, die auch vorgelagerte und nachgelagerte Teilprozesse umfassen. »smart Cockpit« ermöglicht es Unternehmen, Probleme frühzeitig zu erkennen und angemessen zu handeln.

Das Fraunhofer IESE unterstützte Insiders Technologies bei der Erstellung eines innovativen Interaktionskonzepts für »smart Cockpit«, das auf die Bedürfnisse der Kunden zugeschnitten ist, eine hohe Usability ermöglicht und eine positive User Experience fördert.

Unter Verwendung der Fraunhofer IESE Anforderungsmethodik Satisfy wurden zunächst die strategischen Ziele erhoben, die mit dem neuen Produkt verfolgt werden. Diese dienten als wichtiger Beitrag zur Erhebung der Anforderungen an das Interaktionskonzept. In Einklang mit dem Grundsatz des stetigen Kundendialogs bei Insiders Technologies wurde dann zusammen mit einem Arbeitskreis aus repräsentativen Kunden und Benutzern ein Workshop veranstaltet, um auch die Kundenperspektive zu erfassen. Durch den Einsatz verschiedener, speziell für die Situation zusammengestellter Kreativitätstechniken (z. B. Lotus Blossom, Brainwriting, Remember the Future, Produkt-Box) wurden sowohl die Erwartungen an als auch innovative Features und Qualitätsanforderungen für das neue Produkt aus Kundensicht in angenehmer Atmosphäre erhoben und initial priorisiert. Im Anschluss wurden die Anforderungen konsolidiert und kategorisiert.

Basierend auf den Anforderungen aus Management und Kundensicht wurden unter Verwendungen der Fraunhofer IESE UXelerate Methodik zunächst die grundlegenden Interaktionskonzepte festgelegt. Um diese Konzepte zeitnah zu evaluieren, wurden für ausgewählte Anwendungsfälle Papierprototypen erstellt. Diese wurden im Wizard-of-Oz Modus zusammen mit Insiders Technologies evaluiert und Verbesserungsvorschläge wurden aufgenommen.

Zur Evaluation des Interaktionskonzepts durch den Arbeitskreis aus Kunden und Benutzern wurde mit dem Prototyping-Werkzeug Microsoft Expression Blend SketchFlow ein ausführbarer Low-Fidelity-Prototyp für die ausgewählten Anwendungsfälle erstellt und im Rahmen eines erneuten Workshops evaluiert.

Durch die individuelle Methodenauswahl, die konsequente Kunden- und Benutzereinbindung sowie durch die stetige Evaluation der Zwischenergebnisse wurde ein innovatives Interaktionskonzept geschaffen, das sowohl Insiders Technologies als auch deren Kunden anspricht.

Kundenstatement

»Die methodische Herangehensweise sowie die Kreativtechniken des Fraunhofer IESE haben uns und unsere Kunden, die wir im Rahmen eines Arbeitskreises zur Mitarbeit an der Entwicklung des neuen Produktes gewinnen konnten, gleichermaßen überzeugt und begeistert.«

Dr.-Ing. Michael Gillmann, Produktmanager, Insiders Technologies GmbH