Software & Platform Business

The digital transformation is in full swing – are you on board? Fraunhofer IESE supports you in the development and implementation of digital business models, from digital services via digital ecosystems to platforms for your digital business.

Solutions for your digital business models and software in digital ecosystems

Platform Business

Digital ecosystems & platform economy – Fraunhofer IESE supports your company in the development of digital business models to enable you to survive in the digital transformation.

On the road to the digital future, processes are getting digitalized, automated, and networked. Information systems and software on mobile devices and on the "Internet of Things" control these processes and workflows. This leads to the emergence of digital ecosystems that are available and can be experienced at all times and almost anywhere, and which trigger the establishment of novel types of digital business models.

Our goal is to ensure the long-term success of your business through digital revenues. We assist you in the development of your digital business model with our leading innovative methods. This means that our experts will accompany you from ideation via the concept to the prototype implementation of a digital service, a digital ecosystem, or a platform.

Software Business

Software & Systems Engineering – Fraunhofer IESE offers leading-edge research and development services in the area of information systems and mobile systems.

Information systems and mobile systems permeate our daily lives in many areas. In the future, company-internal systems such as ERP, CRM, ICIS, accounting and billing systems will not only provide support for and automation of business processes and daily processing of millions of transactions, but will also be networked with and interact with other system classes, such as Social Media, eCommerce, FinTech, systems in vehicles and in other companies – also from other industries. This will result in better, more widely available, data-based, and personalized services for customers and users.

What does Fraunhofer IESE offer that enables you to benefit from digital ecosystems and the digital transformation?

With our three service areas, you will successfully master the challenges of the digital transformation.

 

Innovation & Strategy

  • Fraunhofer is your incubator and your workshop: We accompany your digitalization projects and innovative product developments from ideation to rapid prototyping in our Innovation Labs with guaranteed qualities such as Security, Safety, Privacy, and User Experience.
  • We design your digital ecosystem for you and with you, so that you can use new digital business models to secure your company’s long-term success also with digital revenues.
  • Together with you, we develop a vision, a goal, and a migration path for the modernization of legacy systems in order to make them fit for the future and for use by younger generations.

 

Diagnostics & Optimization

  • Fraunhofer optimizes your IT and software processes for software and application development and for the continually increasing requirements of users and customers in terms of competitive productivity, quality, regulatory requirements, as well as fitness for the digital transformation.  
  • We revise your software architectures to enable them to master future challenges regarding networking in digital ecosystems, quality, longevity, and extensibility.
  • We improve the User Experience of the user end points for your digital services and platforms – your customers will love using your products or working with your software!

 

Engineering Support

  • Fraunhofer helps you design your software and services – from the requirements via the architecture to the user interface and the right test cases – in order to ensure right from the start that the complexity of ecosystems and digital services remains manageable.
  • We provide operational support for the modernization of your software systems, from the user interface via the architecture to the code and the exchange of implementation technologies in accordance with the developed goal and the defined migration path.

 

Have we aroused your interest? Get in contact with us! We will be glad to discuss your individual challenges with you and design a solution based on our competencies.

Continuing Education at Fraunhofer IESE

Seminars & Coaching

We offer seminars on many topics, e.g., in the areas of Requirements Engineering, Software Architecture, Data Science. Or we can tailor an individual seminar for you! Contact us. 

Fraunhofer IESE-Blog

Digital Financing

In addition to the development of digital business models, the integration of services and IoT objects is also part of the digital transformation. Our blog post [German only] sketches an innovative scenario.

 

Modernization

Is your software up to date?

Software modernization is important to keep up with progress and with competitors. Get an overview of typical situations and challenges.

Selected Projects

 

Using Big Data to Improve Business Processes

The rapid advances in information technology (IT) have a number of effects on global business. One of these effects is that a large amount and variety of measurement data is produced at great speed. The availability of such “Big Data” creates a number of new opportunities for business but also entails numerous entirely new challenges.

 

Caruso: A Digital Ecosystem

Caruso GmbH developed its open and neutral data and service marketplace for the Automotive Aftermarket with the support of Fraunhofer IESE.

As a neutral and strategic technology partner, we helped to structure the ecosystem systematically and to gradually develop the platform as the core of digital ecosystems.

 

SECCRIT: SEcure Cloud computing for CRitical infrastructure IT

Requirements on the Cloud, such as high levels of availability, resilience, and IT security, are indispensable for the use of Cloud technologies in the area of critical infrastructures, as is the guarantee that these will actually be delivered. However, the guaranteed implementation of these requirements continues to present a challenge.

 

Fujitsu EST: Sustaining Innovation in Product Development

As an international subsidiary of Fujitsu’s technology organization, Fujitsu EST undertakes core software product management and development activities, forming an important bridge between the company’s technology groups and its international customers and partners.

 

BASF SE

BASF SE – with revenues of more than 70 billion euros and over 110,000 employees worldwide – is the largest chemical company in the world. Software and IT services are an integral part of the support of internal and external business processes at BASF.

 

Cosmos Direkt Gruppe (Cosmos Finanzservice GmbH)

For our customer Cosmos, we analyzed the IT infrastructure and developed a sustainable target IT infrastructure – combining requirements from both business and IT – integrated into one big picture.

 

ECOPETROL S.A., Colombia

For our customer ECOPETROL S.A. in Colombia, we aligned the company’s strategy and business goals with IT- and software-related activities using our proven GQM+Strategies® method. This led to increased transparency of goals, strategies, and measurement data across the organization, clarification of the value contributed by IT and software development in terms of the organization’s business goals, more objective decision-making, and other benefits.

 

Finanz Informatik GmbH & Co.KG

For our customer FinanzInformatik, we conducted a series of usability tests, thereby enabling them to make a decision about which screen representation and graphical user interface design is best suited with regard to efficiency, effectiveness, and correctness of information in a bank clerk’s daily work with customers.

 

Fujitsu Labs, Japan

Since 2006, Fraunhofer IESE and Fujitsu Labs have been collaborating in joint research and technology transfer projects. This collaboration started in the area of requirements engineering, especially in the areas of requirements specifications, non-functional requirements, requirements reviews, and traceability of requirements. In 2010, the collaboration was extended to include the topics of architecture, usability & user experience, as well as requirements elicitation. Fujitsu Labs recently announced that the tailored Fraunhofer IESE methodologies had been transferred successfully to the Fujitsu business units by Fujitsu Labs.

 

Lufthansa Systems AG

We supported our customer Lufthansa Systems AG in preparing end-to-end development of mobile apps as a supplement to existing products. Based on an example mobile app, a process was defined and tested from a feature to an executable prototype. In the prototype development, the UI and the interaction design as well as the architecture design were primarily developed by Fraunhofer IESE experts, while the implementation of the prototype could be performed by a group of student developers, as in other comparable customer projects of Fraunhofer IESE. In 2011, Fraunhofer IESE and Lufthansa Systems continued their development regarding mobile apps.

 

Lufthansa AG

We supported our customer Lufthansa AG in selecting a new technology for one of their operative systems based on our competence in architecture-centric engineering.

 

SAP AG

Catastrophes or major disasters frequently lead to extreme strains on the rescue units and security forces in charge. As a partner in an interdisciplinary project consortium, Fraunhofer IESE was tasked with performing requirements engineering. To elicit the requirements on the platform to be designed, numerous public safety institutions (e.g., police, fire department, Federal Agency for Technical Relief, etc.) had to be analyzed in terms of their internal organization, taking into account their respective security and non-disclosure aspects, while at the same time maintaining confidentiality regarding certain aspects of these institutions.

You may also be interested in these posts on the Fraunhofer IESE Blog.

Please note that the following posts are only available in German:

In the context of the digital transformation, more and more data including personal data is being processed. Since May 2018, the new General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) has been in force in the EU. Our series of four posts on the Fraunhofer IESE Blog provides background information and practical tips and addresses the importance of the GDPR for digital ecosystems and digital business models.

Blog Post: “Digital Ecosystems and Platform economy” [in German]

 

Find out more about the new responsibility resulting from the GDPR as well as about the economic opportunities arising from it in this interview about GDPR.

Blog Post: “The GDPR: New Responsibility – New Opportunities” [in German]

 

One of the Fraunhofer flagship projects in the area of Digital Ecosystems and Platform Economy is the cooperation with CARUSO dataplace. In this exciting blog post, you can learn more about the CARUSO Go-Live event, which took place in November 2017 already. Since then, CARUSO dataplace has been running with increasing success. 

Blog Post: “Caruso Go-live – The Networking Platform” [in German]

Follow us

Follow us on Twitter Network on Xing Meet us on LinkedIn Videos on Youtube

Software & Platform Business

Die digitale Transformation ist in voller Fahrt – sind Sie auch dabei? Das Fraunhofer IESE unterstützt Sie bei der Entwicklung und Umsetzung digitaler Geschäftsmodelle, angefangen beim digitalen Service über digitale Ökosysteme bis hin zur Plattform für Ihr digitales Business.

Lösungen für Ihre digitalen Geschäftsmodelle und Software
in digitalen Ökosystemen

Platform Business

Digitale Ökosysteme & Plattformökonomie – Das Fraunhofer IESE unterstützt Ihr Unternehmen bei der Entwicklung von digitalen Geschäftsmodellen, um in der digitalen Transformation zu bestehen.

Auf dem Weg ins digitale Morgen werden Prozesse digitalisiert, automatisiert und vernetzt. Informationssysteme und Software auf mobilen Endgeräten und im »Internet of Things« steuern diese Prozesse und Abläufe. So entstehen digitale Ökosysteme, die jederzeit an nahezu jedem Ort verfügbar und erlebbar sind und neuartige digitale Geschäftsmodelle etablieren.

Unser Ziel ist es Ihren langfristigen Unternehmenserfolg durch digitale Erträge zu sichern. Wir begleiten die Entwicklung und Umsetzung Ihres digitalen Geschäftsmodells mit unseren führenden innovativen Methoden. Das heißt unsere Experten begleiten Sie von der Ideenfindung über das Konzept bis zur prototypischen Umsetzung eines digitalen Services, digitalen Ökosystems oder einer Plattform.

Software Business

Software & Systems Engineering – Das Fraunhofer IESE bietet Spitzenforschungs- und Entwicklungsleistungen im Bereich Informationssysteme und mobile Systeme an.

Informationssysteme und mobile Systeme durchdringen unser Alltagsleben in vielen Bereichen. Firmeninterne Systeme wie ERP, CRM, ICIS, Buchhaltungs- und Rechnungssysteme werden neben der Unterstützung und Automatisierung von Geschäftsprozessen und der täglichen Abwicklung von Millionen von Transaktionen in Zukunft auch mit anderen Systemklassen, z. B. Social Media, eCommerce, FinTech, Systemen in Fahrzeugen und in anderen Unternehmen – auch aus anderen Branchen – vernetzt sein und interagieren. So entstehen bessere, höher verfügbare, datenbasierte und personalisierte Dienste für Kunden und Nutzer.

Was bietet Ihnen das Fraunhofer IESE,
um von digitalen Ökosystemen und der digitalen Transformation zu profitieren?

Mit unseren drei Servicefeldern werden Sie die Herausforderungen der digitalen Transformation erfolgreich meistern.

 

Innovation & Strategy

  • Fraunhofer ist Ihr Inkubator und Ihre Werkstatt: Wir begleiten Ihre Digitalisierungsprojekte und innovativen Produktentwicklungen von der Ideation bis zum Rapid Prototyping in unseren Innovation Labs mit garantierten Qualitäten wie z. B. Security, Safety, Privacy und User Experience.
  • Wir entwerfen für Sie und mit Ihnen Ihr digitales Ökosystem, um mit neuen digitalen Geschäftsmodellen langfristig Ihren Unternehmenserfolg auch durch digitale Erträge zu sichern.
  • Wir entwickeln gemeinsam mit Ihnen eine Vision, ein Zielbild und einen Migrationspfad für die Modernisierung bestehender Systeme, um sie fit für die Zukunft und die Anwendung durch jüngere Generationen zu machen.

 

Diagnostics & Optimization

  • Fraunhofer optimiert Ihre IT- und Software-Prozesse auf wettbewerbsfähige Produktivität, Qualität, regulatorische Anforderungen sowie die Fitness für die digitale Transformation für Software- und Anwendungsentwicklung und die ständig steigenden Anforderungen der Nutzer und Kunden.
  • Wir überarbeiten Ihre Softwarearchitekturen für zukünftige Herausforderungen der Vernetzung in digitalen Ökosystemen, Qualität, Langlebigkeit und Erweiterbarkeit.
  • Wir verbessern die User Experience der User End Points für Ihre digitalen Services und Plattformen – Ihre Kunden werden es lieben, Ihre Dienste zu nutzen oder mit Ihrer Software zu arbeiten!

 

Engineering Support

  • Fraunhofer hilft Ihnen bei der Konzeption Ihrer Software und Services – von den Anforderungen über die Architektur bis hin zum User Interface und den richtigen Testfällen –, um von Anfang an sicherzustellen, dass die Komplexität von Ökosystemen und digitalen Services beherrschbar bleibt.
  • Wir unterstützen Sie operativ bei der Modernisierung Ihrer Softwaresysteme vom User Interface über die Architektur bis in den Code und den Austausch von Implementierungstechnologien gemäß entwickeltem Zielbild und definiertem Migrationspfad.

 

Wir haben Ihr Interesse geweckt? Nehmen Sie Kontakt mit uns auf! Wir besprechen gern Ihre individuellen Herausforderungen mit Ihnen und entwerfen eine Lösung auf Basis unserer Kompetenzen.

Weiterbildung am Fraunhofer IESE

Schulungen & Coaching

Wir bieten zu vielen Themen Schulungen an z.B. in den Bereichen Requirements Engineering, Software Architekturen, Data Science. Oder wir erstellen ein individuelles Seminar für Sie! Sprechen Sie uns an.

 

Fraunhofer IESE-Blog

Digitale Finanzierung

Neben der Entwicklung digitaler Geschäftsmodelle gehört zur digitalen Transformation auch die Integration von Diensten und Objekten des IoT. Unser Blogartikel skizziert ein innovatives Szenario.

 

Modernisierung

Ist Ihre Software aktuell?

Software-Modernisierung ist wichtig, um mit Fortschritt und Wettbewerbern Schritt halten zu können. Verschaffen Sie sich einen Überblick über typische Situationen und Herausforderungen. 

Ausgewählte Projekte

 

Mit Big Data Geschäftsprozesse verbessern

Die rapiden Fortschritte in der Informationstechnologie (IT) haben zahlreiche Auswirkungen auf die Weltwirtschaft. Eine davon ist, dass sehr schnell sehr viele und sehr unterschiedliche Messdaten produziert werden. Die Verfügbarkeit solcher »Big Data« schafft neue Chancen für die Wirtschaft, bringt aber auch zahlreiche völlig neue Herausforderungen mit sich.

 

Caruso: Ein digitales Ökosystem

Die Caruso GmbH hat mit Unterstützung des Fraunhofer IESE ihren offenen und neutralen Daten- und Service-Marktplatz für den Automotive Aftermarket entwickelt.

Als neutraler und strategischer Technologiepartner verhalfen wir dem Ökosystem zu einer zielgerichteten Strukturierung und einer schrittweisen Entwicklung der Plattform als Kern von digitalen Ökosystemen.

 

SECCRIT: SEcure Cloud computing for CRitical infrastructure IT

Anforderungen an die Cloud wie hohe Verfügbarkeit, Widerstandsfähigkeit und IT-Sicherheit, aber auch deren garantierte Erbringung sind für die Nutzung von Cloud-Technologien im Bereich der kritischen Infrastrukturen unerlässlich. Allerdings stellt die garantierte Umsetzung dieser Anforderungen weiterhin eine Herausforderung dar.

 

Fujitsu EST: Innovation nachhaltig in der Produktentwicklung verankern

Als internationaler Teil des Technologiebereichs von Fujitsu befasst sich Fujitsu EST mit Management- und Entwicklungsaktivitäten von Kernsoftwareprodukten und schlägt damit eine wichtige Brücke zwischen den Technologiegruppen des Unternehmens und seinen internationalen Kunden und Partnern.

 

BASF SE

Die BASF SE ist mit mehr als 70 Millarden Euro Umsatz und über 110.000 Mitarbeitern weltweit das größte Chemieunternehmen der Welt. Auch hier sind Software und IT-Dienstleitungen ein integraler Bestandteil der Unterstützung von intenern und externen Geschäftsprozessen.

 

Cosmos Direkt Gruppe (Cosmos Finanzservice GmbH)

Für unseren Kunden Cosmos haben wir die IT-Infrastruktur analysiert und – auch in Verbindung mit Anforderungen sowohl geschäftlicher Natur als auch solchen aus dem IT-Bereich – eine nachhaltige Ziel-IT-Infrastruktur entwickelt, die in ein großes Gesamtbild eingebunden ist.
 

ECOPETROL S.A., Kolumbien

Für unseren Kunden ECOPETROL S.A. in Kolumbien brachten wir die Unternehmensstrategie und die Geschäftsziele mithilfe unserer bewährten GQM+Strategies® Methode mit den IT- und softwarebezogenen Aktivitäten in Einklang. Dies führte zu einer größeren unternehmensweiten Transparenz der Ziele, Strategien und Messdaten, einer Verdeutlichung des Wertes, den die IT und die Softwareentwicklung zu den Geschäftszielen des Unternehmens beitragen, mehr Objektivität bei der Entscheidungsfindung sowie weiteren Vorteilen

 

Finanz Informatik GmbH & Co.KG

Für unseren Kunden FinanzInformatik haben wir eine Reihe von Usability-Tests durchgeführt und dadurch eine Entscheidung darüber ermöglicht, welche Bildschirmdarstellung und welches grafische Benutzerschnittstellendesign sich in Bezug auf Effizienz, Effektivität und Korrektheit der Informationen bei der täglichen Arbeit eines Bankangestellten mit den Kunden am besten eignet.
 

Fujitsu Labs, Japan

Seit 2006 arbeiten das Fraunhofer IESE und Fujitsu Labs in gemeinsamen Forschungs- und Transferprojekten zusammen. Diese Zusammenarbeit begann im Bereich Anforderungsengineering, besonders in den Bereichen Anforderungsspezifikation, nichtfunktionale Anforderungen, Anforderungsreviews und Nachverfolgbarkeit von Anforderungen. 2010 wurde die Kooperation erweitert und umfasst nun auch die Themen Architektur, Benutzerfreundlichkeit (»Usability«) und Benutzererfahrung (»User Experience«) sowie Anforderungserhebung. Fujitsu Labs gab vor kurzem bekannt, dass Fujitsu Labs die angepassten Methodiken des Fraunhofer IESE erfolgreich in die Fujitsu Business Units übertragen hat.

 

Lufthansa Systems AG

Unseren Kunden Lufthansa Systems haben wir bei der Vorbereitung einer durchgängigen Entwicklung von mobilen Applikationen als Ergänzung zu bestehenden Produkten unterstützt. Basierend auf einer mobilen Muster-App wurde ein Prozess von einem Feature bis zu einem ausführbaren Prototyp definiert und getestet. Bei der Entwicklung des Prototyps wurden das UI und das Interaktionsdesign sowie der Architekturentwurf hauptsächlich von Experten des Fraunhofer IESE entwickelt, während die Implementierung des Prototyps wie schon in anderen vergleichbaren Kundenprojekten des Fraunhofer IESE von einem Team studentischer Entwickler durchgeführt werden konnte. 2011 setzten das Fraunhofer IESE und Lufthansa Systems ihre Zusammenarbeit zum Thema mobile Apps fort
 

Lufthansa AG

Wir haben unseren Kunden Lufthansa AG auf der Basis unserer Kompetenz im Architecture-Centric Engineering bei der Auswahl einer neuen Technologie für eines seiner operativen Systeme unterstützt.
 

SAP AG

Katastrophen oder auch Großschadensereignisse führen nicht selten zu extremer Belastung bei den zuständigen Einsatz- und Sicherheitskräften. Als Partner im interdisziplinären Projektkonsortium war das Fraunhofer IESE mit der Durchführung des Anforderungsengineering betraut. Für die Erhebung der Anforderungen für die zu konzipierende Plattform mussten zahlreiche Einrichtungen der öffentlichen Sicherheit (z.B. Polizei, Feuerwehren, Technisches Hilfswerk, etc.) unter Beachtung der jeweiligen Sicherheits- und Geheimhaltungsaspekte hinsichtlich ihrer internen Organisation analysiert werden, wobei gleichzeitig die Vertraulichkeit bestimmter Aspekte dieser Einrichtungen gewahrt werden musste.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren:

Mit der digitalen Transformation werden immer mehr Daten und auch personenbezogene Daten verarbeitet. Seit Mai 2018 gilt die neue Datenschutzgrundverordnung (DSGVO). Unsere Serie von vier Artikeln auf dem Fraunhofer IESE-Blog zeigen Hintergründe und praktische Tipps und gehen auf die Bedeutung der DSGVO für digitale Ökosysteme und digitale Geschäftsmodelle ein.

Zum Blog: »Digitale Ökosysteme und Plattformökonomie«

 

Zu der neuen Verantwortung der DSGVO, aber auch den wirtschaftlichen Chancen, die sich daraus ergeben, können Sie sich in diesem Interview zur DSGVO informieren.

Zum Blog: »Die DSGVO: Neue Verantwortung – neue Chancen«

 

Eines der Fraunhofer Flagship Projekte im Bereich digitale Ökosysteme und Plattformökonomie ist die Kooperation mit CARUSO dataplace. In diesem spannenden Blogartikel erfahren Sie mehr über das CARUSO Go-Live Event, das bereits im November 2017 stattfand. Seitdem läuft CARUSO dataplace mit wachsendem Erfolg. 

Zum Blog: »Caruso Go-live – Die Plattform zur Vernetzung«

Folgen Sie uns

Folgen Sie uns bei Twitter Besuchen Sie unser Xing-Profil Treffen Sie uns bei LinkedIn Unser Video-Channel bei Youtube