PROASSIST4LIFE

Fraunhofer Institute for Experimental Software Engineering IESE

ProAssist4Life - Proactive Assistance for critical situations - Emergency detection for senior citizens

The Situation

According to current estimates, one out of three people over the age of 65 suffers a serious fall once a year; for people over the age of 80, it is almost one out of two. Many accidents happen in private homes during everyday activities, often at night. It frequently takes hours until help arrives for the affected person. Even home emergency call systems only offer limited support, since an elderly person is often not capable of issuing an emergency alert because he or she is injured or disoriented, or is simply not carrying the push button. If helplessness is detected late, the effects can be very serious. Epidemiological studies show that following a fall and subsequent hospitalization, elderly patients are much more likely not to be able to continue living on their own, but must rather be released to a nursing facility.

Help shall be provided by an intelligent system that recognizes such emergencies automatically and reacts to them. Although promising approaches exist in research environments regarding the automatic detection of helplessness at home, these have not yet been realized in concrete products so far and are thus not available on the market – despite great demand. This supply gap can be closed effectively with this project. The project ProAssist4Life is therefore about developing an integrated software and hardware solution for home environments that can be used to detect situations of helplessness in a cost-efficient, anticipatory, and unobtrusive way, and it is about providing adequate assistance.

The ProAssist4Life Solution

The partners are working on developing an unobtrusive system that will permanently “accompany” elderly people in their own home or in a senior citizens’ home. Multi-sensor nodes mounted to the ceiling of the rooms capture the resident’s movement patterns. The data are then transmitted wirelessly to a computer. Software is used to document the resident’s activities of daily living, and thus continually learns what his “normal behavior” is. The evaluation program permanently compares the current activity of the resident with the model. This is how it recognizes deviant situations that might indicate that the person has suffered a fall, is lying motionless on the floor, and is in a situation of helplessness. If the elderly person does not react to the contact made by the system, the software will send a text message to inform a trusted person, such as a family member or caregiver.

The ProAssist4Life solution comprises:

  • A novel, cost-efficient multi-sensor node, which can be used to capture the activities and conditions in the home environment and on the part of the user;
  • An integrated framework for personalized situation recognition from the home environment, which can be used to detect and anticipate stereotypical assistance situations automatically and which can also be used to plan and provide assistance that is appropriate for the respective situation;
  • An interaction module that allows intuitive integration of the resident and his/her social network as well as professional assistance services into the assistance process, and
  • A compact middleware, which allows using the software components on different hardware platforms, such as set-top boxes.

“Initially, our solution is intended as a supplement to conventional home emergency call systems and shall improve the feeling of safety of users and family members. In the long run, both systems shall be integrated. “ (Prof. Dr. med. Christian Madler, Medical Director, Institute for Anesthesiology and Emergency Medicine I, Westpfalz-Klinikum Kaiserslautern)

The project PROASSIST4LIFE was jointly conducted with funds of the German Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) (funded by the BMBF funding program “KMU-Innovationsoffensive Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologie (IKT) – Softwaresysteme und Wissensverarbeitung”) together with the collaboration partners

PROASSIST4LIFE

ProAssist4Life – Notfallerkennung für Senioren

Situation

Nach aktuellen Schätzungen stürzt jeder Dritte der über 65-Jährigen einmal pro Jahr; bei den über 80-Jährigen ist es fast jeder Zweite. Viele der Unfälle ereignen sich in Privathaushalten bei alltäglichen Verrichtungen, oft auch nachts. Häufig dauert es mitunter Stunden, bis den Betroffenen geholfen wird. Selbst Hausnotrufsysteme helfen nur bedingt, da die Senioren oftmals nicht in der Lage sind, ein Notrufsignal auszulösen, weil sie verletzt oder desorientiert sind oder einfach den Druckknopf nicht bei sich tragen. Späte Erkennung von Hilfsbedürftigkeit hat fatale Auswirkungen. Epidemiologische Untersuchungen belegen, dass ältere Patienten nach einem häuslichen Sturz im Anschluss an den Klinikaufenthalt wesentlich häufiger nicht mehr selbständig wohnen können, sondern in eine Pflegeeinrichtung entlassen werden müssen.

Abhilfe schaffen soll hier ein intelligentes System, das derartige Notlagen automatisch erkennt und darauf reagiert. Obwohl im Forschungsumfeld vielversprechende Ansätze zur automatischen Erkennung von Hilfsbedürftigkeit im häuslichen Umfeld existieren, sind diese bislang nicht in konkrete Produkte eingeflossen und sind damit am Markt nicht verfügbar – trotz hohen Bedarfs. Diese Versorgungslücke kann mit diesem Vorhaben nachhaltig geschlossen werden. Gegenstand des Projekts ProAssist4Life ist daher die Entwicklung einer integrierten Soft- und Hardwarelösung für das häusliche Umfeld, mit der sich kostengünstig, vorausschauend und unaufdringlich Situationen der Hilfsbedürftigkeit erkennen lassen und adäquate Hilfestellungen erbracht werden können.

Die ProAssist4Life Lösung

Die Partner arbeiten an einem unaufdringlichen System, das ältere Personen im Eigen- oder im Altenheim permanent »begleitet«. An der Zimmerdecke montierte Multisensorknoten erfassen die Bewegungsabläufe des Bewohners. Die Daten werden dann per Funk an einen Computer übermittelt. Eine Software dokumentiert die täglichen Aktivitäten des Bewohners und lernt somit kontinuierlich sein »Normalverhalten«. Das Auswertungsprogramm vergleicht das aktuelle Handeln des Betroffenen permanent mit dem erstellten Modell. Auf diese Weise erkennt es abweichende Situationen, die darauf hindeuten können, dass die Person gestürzt ist, reglos am Boden liegt und sich in einer hilflosen Lage befindet. Sollte der ältere Mensch auf eine Ansprache durch das System nicht reagieren, informiert die Software per SMS eine Person des Vertrauens, etwa einen Angehörigen oder Pfleger.

Die ProAssist4Life Lösung umfasst dabei:

  • einen neuartigen kostengünstige Multisensorknoten, anhand dessen Aktivitäten und Zustände in der häuslichen Umgebung und seitens der Benutzer erfasst werden können;
  • ein integriertes Framework zur personalisierten Situationserkennung aus der Wohnumgebung heraus, mit dem sich stereotypische Unterstützungssituationen automatisch und vorausschauend erkennen lassen können und mit deren Hilfe eine situationsgerechte Unterstützung geplant und erbracht werden kann;
  • ein Interaktionsmodul, das eine intuitive Einbindung der Betroffenen und ihres sozialen Netzwerks und professioneller Hilfsdienste in den Unterstützungsprozess ermöglicht, und
  • eine kompakte Middleware, die den Einsatz der Softwarekomponenten auf verschiedenen Hardwareplattformen, z.B. Set-Top-Boxen, ermöglicht.

»Unsere Lösung soll konventionelle Hausnotrufsysteme zunächst ergänzen, das Sicherheitsgefühl von Nutzern und Angehörigen verbessern. Auf lange Sicht sollen beide Systeme integriert werden.«

(Prof. Dr. med. Christian Madler, Chefarzt, Institut für Anästhesiologie und Notfallmedizin I, Westpfalz-Klinikum Kaiserslautern)

Das Projekt PROASSIST4LIFE wurde gemeinsam mit dem Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung  <BMBF> (gefördert durch die BMBF-Fördermaßnahme »KMU-Innovationsoffensive Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologie (IKT) – Softwaresysteme und Wissensverarbeitung«) gemeinsam mit folgenden Kooperationspartnern durchgeführt:

  • Westpfalz-Klinikum GmbH, www.westpfalz-klinikum.de
  • Binder Elektronik GmbH, www.binder-elektronik.de
  • CIBEK technology + trading GmbH, www.cibek.de

Gefördert vom