Automated ATMP and the Transformation of Individual Medicine, Fraunhofer IESE
© iStock/sergeryshov
IESE enables automated and safe individual pharmaceutical production

Transformation towards automated individualized pharmacy#

Fraunhofer IESE enables automated and safe individualized pharmaceutical production

Automated ATMP and the Transformation of Individualized Medicine

The so-called “Advanced Medical Therapeutical Products” (ATMP) are at the spearhead of individualized medicine and use cell or tissue samples of patients to treat particularly severe diseases very effectively. Production is currently characterized by many manual subprocesses and subsystems, and is therefore very cost-intensive. Such products are thus only available to a limited extent. Fraunhofer IESE is therefore applying the principles of smart automation to the complex processes of ATMP production.

With smart software, Fraunhofer IESE enables

  • low-cost, modular, flexible, and safe production with “lot size 1”,
  • the automation of development and production independent of the active ingredient for drugs or vaccines,
  • compliance with the high safety requirements for pharmaceutical products with corresponding quality assurance, and
  • manufacturer-independent and complete quality certification.

The Fraunhofer Innovation Cluster “Production for Intelligent Medicine” serves as the framework that combines the institutes’ biological and medical know-how in the production of cell and gene therapeutics as well as vaccines with expertise in automation technologies and the autonomous control of industrial processes.

Under the leadership of the Fraunhofer Institutes for Cell Therapy and Immunology IZI, Experimental Software Engineering IESE, Manufacturing Engineering and Automation IPA, Molecular Biology and Applied Ecology IME, as well as Industrial Engineering IAO, the researchers are transferring automation technologies into medical research and application in the manufacturing sector. The goal of the project in its first phase is to develop innovative concepts for the digital, AI-supported, robot-assisted, and automatic production of drugs such as cell and gene therapeutics as well as vaccines.

Automatisierte ATMP und die Transformation der individuellen Medizin, Fraunhofer IESE
© iStock/sergeryshov
IESE ermöglicht automatisierte und sichere individuelle Pharmazieproduktion

Transformation hin zur automatisierten individuellen Pharmazie

Das Fraunhofer IESE ermöglicht automatisierte und sichere individuelle Pharmazieproduktion

Automatisierte ATMP und die Transformation der individuellen Medizin

Die sogenannten »Advanced Medical Therapeutical Products« (ATMP) sind an der Speerspitze individualisierter Medizin und nutzen Zell- oder Gewebeproben von Patienten um besonders schwere Erkrankungen besonders effektiv zu behandeln. Die Produktion ist aktuell durch viele manuelle Teilprozesse und -systeme geprägt und daher sehr kostenintensiv. Entsprechende Produkte sind daher nur in geringem Maße verfügbar. Das Fraunhofer IESE wendet daher die Prinzipien der intelligenten Automatisierung auf die komplexen Prozesse der ATMP-Produktion an.

Mit smarter Software sorgt das Fraunhofer IESE für

  • eine günstige, modulare, flexible und sichere Produktion bei »Losgröße 1«,
  • eine Automatisierung der Entwicklung und Produktion unabhängig vom Wirkstoff für Arzneien oder Impfstoffe,
  • Wahrung der hohen Sicherheitsansprüche bei Pharmaprodukten mit entsprechender Qualitätssicherung und
  • herstellerübergreifende und lückenlose Qualitätsnachweise.

Das rahmengebende Fraunhofer-Innovationscluster »Produktion für Intelligente Medizin« verbindet das biologische und medizinische Know-how der Institute in der Herstellung von Zell- und Gentherapeutika sowie von Impfstoffen mit der Expertise in Automatisierungstechnologien und in der autonomen Steuerung industrieller Prozesse.

Unter Federführung der Fraunhofer-Institute für Zelltherapie und Immunologie IZI, Experimentelles Software Engineering IESE, Produktions- und Automatisierung IPA, Molekularbiologie und Angewandte Oekologie IME sowie Arbeitswirtschaft und Organisation IAO überführen die Wissenschaftler*innen Automatisierungstechnologien in die medizinische Forschung und Anwendung im Herstellungsbereich. Ziel des Vorhabens in seiner ersten Phase ist die Entwicklung innovativer Konzepte für die digitale, KI-gestützte, roboter-assistierte und automatische Herstellung von Arzneimitteln wie Zell- und Gentherapeutika sowie Impfstoffen.