Flex4Energy

Managing flexibility smartly

Together with the members of the association StoREgio Energiespeichersysteme e.V., Fraunhofer IESE is developing a trading platform for flexibility potentials at the distribution grid level in the project Flex4Energy.

With the increasing decentralized feed-in of fluctuating, renewable energy from wind and sun into the local and regional distribution grids, the need grows to balance deviations between generation and consumption already at the level of the distribution grids through appropriate flexibility options (option to supply or purchase energy). Such flexibility potentials can be provided via storage systems as well as via controllable loads or consumers.

Imbalances between power generation and consumption lead to voltage and frequency fluctuations in the power grid. To date, these fluctuations have been offset by the existing balancing energy markets at the level of the transmission grids. With the increasing share of renewable energy in the power supply, the need for balancing increases sharply. As the majority of renewable energy is fed in at the distribution grid level, regional balancing mechanisms can reduce the need for balancing in the transmission grid and provide relief for the transmission grids.

In the project Flex4Energy, such a balancing mechanism is being created in the form of a Cloud-based trading platform to which providers of flexibility potentials can connect via a secure communication link. A flexibility potential is created, for example, through the installation of a storage system that is not permanently used to capacity in its primary application (e.g., load peak capping or buffering of a solar power system). During its idle times, the storage system can offer its services to the trading platform. The contribution margins thus generated improve the economic feasibility of the investment in the storage system.

The central instrument of the trading platform is a flexibility manager. The flexibility manager trades the flexibility potentials offered to the platform and tries to achieve an economic optimum for the respective providers. Another major novelty is the consideration of the current grid situation in the trading strategies, which is intended to avoid the situation that energy supplies between two trading partners lead to grid bottlenecks.

A very important issue for the project is security, especially the spatial and content-related protection of the information used against unauthorized access and attacks from the outside, secure communication, and the avoidance of instable operating states. This topic area is the responsibility of Fraunhofer IESE in Kaiserslautern. Here, a comprehensive security concept is being defined in the context of the project, which takes into account the overall system, subsystems, and components in order to ensure frictionless operation.

A pilot of the trading platform in Flex4Energy is being run by HSE in Darmstadt. In addition to existing facilities, a storage system of the partner ads-tec (Nürtingen) will be offering flexibility potentials in the project. In this context, Fraunhofer ISE (Freiburg) is investigating the economic deterioration associated with the use of the storage system as a result of aging  and derives prices from this that must be achieved in order to make use of the flexibility offered. Darmstadt University of Applied Sciences is in charge of developing the trading strategies of the flexibility manager. As the consortium leader, StoREgio is responsible for the overall project management. The project is funded by the German Federal Ministry of Economic Affairs and Energy and supported by Project Management Jülich. The project volume is estimated at approx. 4 million euros and is being funded with about 3 million euros.

Logo

Funded by

Flex4Energy - Die Handelsplattform der Zukunft

Flexibilität intelligent managen

Gemeinsam mit den Mitgliedern des Vereins StoREgio Energiespeichersysteme e.V. entwickelt das Fraunhofer IESE im Projekt Flex4Energy eine Handelsplattform für Flexibilitätspotenziale auf Verteilnetzebene.

Mit der zunehmenden dezentralen Einspeisung fluktuierender, erneuerbarer Energie aus Wind und Sonne in die lokalen und regionalen Verteilnetze wächst der Bedarf, Abweichungen zwischen Erzeugung und Verbrauch bereits auf Ebene der Verteilnetze durch entsprechende Flexibilitätsoptionen (Option zur Lieferung oder zum Bezug von Energie) auszugleichen. Derartige Flexibilitätspotenziale können über Speichersysteme sowie steuerbare Lasten oder Verbraucher bereitgestellt werden.

Ungleichgewichte zwischen Stromerzeugung und -verbrauch führen zu Schwankungen von Spannung und Frequenz im Stromnetz. Diese Schwankungen werden bisher durch die bestehenden Regelenergiemärkte auf Ebene der Übertragungsnetze ausgeglichen. Mit zunehmendem Anteil erneuerbarer Energien an der Stromversorgung steigt der Regelbedarf stark an. Da der überwiegende Anteil erneuerbarer Energien auf Verteilnetzebene eingespeist wird, können regionale Ausgleichsmechanismen den Regelbedarf im Übertragungsnetz verringern und die Übertragungsnetze entlasten.

Im Projekt Flex4Energy wird ein solcher Ausgleichsmechanismus in Form einer Cloud-basierten Handelsplattform geschaffen, an die sich Anbieter von Flexibilitätspotenzialen über eine gesicherte Kommunikationsverbindung anschließen können. Ein Flexibilitätspotenzial entsteht z.B. durch die Installation eines Speichersystems, das in seiner primären Anwendung (z.B. Lastspitzenkappung oder Pufferung einer Solaranlage) nicht permanent ausgelastet ist. In den Leerlaufzeiten des Speichersystems kann es seine Dienste der Handelsplattform anbieten. Die dadurch erwirtschafteten Deckungsbeiträge verbessern die Wirtschaftlichkeit der Investition für das Speichersystem.

Zentrales Instrument der Handelsplattform ist ein Flexibilitätsmanager. Der Flexibilitätsmanager handelt die der Plattform angebotenen Flexibilitätspotenziale und versucht, für die jeweiligen Anbieter dabei ein wirtschaftliches Optimum zu erzielen. Eine wesentliche Neuerung stellt auch die Berücksichtigung der aktuellen Netzsituation in den Handelsstrategien dar. So soll vermieden werden, dass Energielieferungen zwischen zwei Handelspartnern zu Netzengpässen führen.

Wesentliche Bedeutung für das Projekt hat das Thema Sicherheit, insbesondere der räumliche und inhaltliche Schutz der verwendeten Informationen vor unerlaubtem Zugriff sowie vor Angriffen von außen, sichere Kommunikation und die Vermeidung instabiler Betriebszustände. Dieses Themengebiet wird vom Fraunhofer IESE in Kaiserslautern verantwortet. Hier wird im Rahmen des Projekts ein umfassendes Sicherheitskonzept definiert, welches Gesamtsystem, Teilsysteme und Komponenten berücksichtigt, um einen reibungslosen Betrieb zu gewährleisten.

Die Handelsplattform in Flex4Energy wird pilothaft von der HSE in Darmstadt betrieben. Neben bestehenden Anlagen wird im Projekt ein Speichersystem des Partners ads-tec (Nürtingen) Flexibilitätspotenziale anbieten. Dabei untersucht das Fraunhofer ISE (Freiburg) die mit dem Einsatz des Speichersystems durch Alterung verbundene wirtschaftliche Abnutzung und leitet daraus Preise ab, die zur Nutzung der angebotenen Flexibilität erzielt werden müssen. Die Hochschule Darmstadt ist für die Entwicklung der Handelsstrategien des Flexibilitätsmanagers zuständig. StoREgio ist in dem Projekt als Konsortialführer für die Gesamtprojektsteuerung verantwortlich. Das Projekt wird vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie gefördert und vom Projektträger Jülich begleitet. Das Projektvolumen ist mit ca. 4 Mio. Euro veranschlagt und wird mit etwa 3 Mio. Euro gefördert.

Logo

Gefördert vom


Förderkennzeichen: 0325780B