Federal Ministry of the Interior

P23R | Prozess-Daten-Beschleuniger: Simple, Safe and Efficient Fulfillment of Information Obligations

In the context of the German Federal Government’s IT investment program, the project P23R | Prozess-Daten-Beschleuniger (“Process Data Accelerator”) was performed from June 2010 to November 2011 on behalf of the Federal Ministry of the Interior. 13 partners from industry, academia, and public administration developed the methodological, technical, and organizational basis for the design of simple reporting processes between companies and government agencies without changes in medium. The P23R principle developed by the project team allows the systematic reduction of redundancies regarding the fulfillment of the legal information obligations.

Within the P23R project, a uniform framework- and safety architecture was designed. It provides a building plan for the implementation of P23R solutions in the respective business context. On the basis of this framework architecture, a prototype was developed that was piloted successfully in companies and government agencies in the Rhine-Neckar metropolitan region for various employer and environmental reporting obligations. This provided evidence of the applicability of the P23R principle in practice. Through the use of P23R solutions, the work effort that companies need to expend to handle government-imposed information and reporting obligations is reduced. The introduction of a P23R solution also reduces the costs for adapting IT information systems to changes in legislation. To support the implementation of the P23R principle, modular method guidelines were developed, which are available as an online version for decision makers in business and public administration.

In this project, Fraunhofer IESE was primarily responsible for quality management, for coordinating work on technical and organizational constraints, as well as for acceptance and change management. In addition, a prioritization methodology was developed for the method guidelines, which allows characterizing process chains between business and public administration regarding their usage potential and ranking them according to the implementation priorities.

The solution approach for the re-design of process chains between business and public administration that was developed in the project required an interdisciplinary procedure where representatives of different areas collaborated in order to achieve a tested and coherent overall result. The realization of independent quality management to support the project management, which was done by Fraunhofer IESE, was therefore of major importance in the project. In principle, two dimensions of quality assurance could be distinguished in the P23R project: On the one hand, quality assurance had to ensure on the operative level that the project results corresponded to the prerequisites and plans defined in advance in order to guarantee that the goal was achieved in terms of quality, quantity, and time; on the other hand, it had to control the process of multi-perspective evaluation in close cooperation with the project management. One particular challenge for quality management in the P23R project was the need to synchronize the various actors all across Germany in such a way that their respective professional expertise could be incorporated into an integrated quality assurance process.

P23R completely re-designs the exchange processes between business and public administration. Such a fundamental change in paradigms can only work if all stakeholders see the changes as positive and accept them. Fraunhofer IESE was responsible for developing and deploying suitable acceptance and change management methods in order to design communication regarding the P23R principle in such a way that all stakeholders will realize its benefits. To do so, Fraunhofer IESE identified factors promoting acceptance and those hindering acceptance for different target groups, as well as success factors of comparable large-scale eGovernment projects, in order to provide advice to the project team during the implementation of P23R and the development of roll-out concepts.

Bundesministerium des Innern

P23R | Prozess-Daten-Beschleuniger – Informationspflichten einfach, sicher und effizient erledigen

Im Rahmen des IT-Investitionsprogramms der Bundesregierung wurde das Projekt P23R | Prozess- Daten-Beschleuniger im Auftrag des Bundesministeriums des Inneren von Juni 2010 bis November 2011 durchgeführt. 13 Partner aus Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Verwaltung erarbeiteten die methodischen, technischen und organisatorischen Grundlagen für die Gestaltung einfacher und medienbruchfreier Meldeprozesse zwischen Unternehmen und Behörden. Das von dem Projektteam entwickelte P23R-Prinzip ermöglicht den systematischen Abbau von Redundanzen bei der Erfüllung der gesetzlichen Informationspflichten.

Innerhalb des P23R-Projektes wurde eine einheitliche Rahmen- und Sicherheitsarchitektur konzipiert. Sie stellt einen Bauplan für die Implementierung von P23R-Lösungen im jeweiligen Unternehmenskontext dar. Auf Grundlage der Rahmenarchitektur wurde ein Prototyp entwickelt, welcher in Unternehmen und Behörden der Metropolregion Rhein-Neckar erfolgreich für verschiedene Meldepflichten aus den Bereichen Arbeitgeber- und Umweltmeldungen pilotiert wurde. Damit konnte der Nachweis der Anwendbarkeit des P23R-Prinzips in der Praxis erbracht werden. Durch den Einsatz von P23R-Lösungen sinkt für Unternehmen der Arbeitsaufwand für die Abwicklung der behördlichen Informations- und Meldepflichten. Die Einführung einer P23R-Lösung reduziert darüber hinaus die Kosten für die Anpassung von IT-Informationssystemen an Gesetzesänderungen. Als Hilfestellung für die Umsetzung des P23R-Prinzips wurde ein modularer Methodenleitfaden entwickelt. Dieser steht Entscheidungsträgern in Wirtschaft und Verwaltung als Online-Version zur Verfügung.

Das Fraunhofer IESE war im Projekt insbesondere für das Qualitätsmanagement, die Koordination der Arbeiten zu den technisch-organisatorischen Rahmenbedingungen sowie für das Akzeptanz- und Change-Management verantwortlich. Des Weiteren wurde eine Priorisierungsmethodik zum Methodenleitfaden beigesteuert, welche es ermöglicht, Prozessketten zwischen Wirtschaft und Verwaltung hinsichtlich ihres Nutzenpotenzials zu charakterisieren und in eine den Umsetzungsprioritäten entsprechende Rangfolge zu bringen.

Der im Projekt entwickelte Lösungsansatz für die Neugestaltung von Prozessketten zwischen Wirtschaft und Verwaltung erforderte eine interdisziplinäre Herangehensweise, bei der Vertreter unterschiedlicher Fachgebiete zusammenwirkten, um ein geprüftes und kohärentes Gesamtergebnis zu erzielen. Der Umsetzung eines unabhängigen Qualitätsmanagements zur Unterstützung der Projektleitung, welches durch das Fraunhofer IESE realisiert wurde, kam daher im Projekt eine sehr wichtige Bedeutung zu. Prinzipiell konnten zwei Dimensionen der Qualitätssicherung im P23R-Projekt unterschieden werden: zum einen musste die Qualitätssicherung auf der operativen Ebene sicherstellen, dass die Projektergebnisse vorab definierten Vorgaben und Plänen entsprachen, um die Zielerreichung in qualitativer, quantitativer und terminlicher Hinsicht zu gewährleisten; zum anderen oblag es ihr, den Prozess der multiperspektivischen Evaluation in enger Zusammenarbeit mit dem Projektmanagement zu steuern. Eine besondere Herausforderung für das Qualitätsmanagement im P23R-Projekt bestand darin, die unterschiedlichen, über ganz Deutschland verteilten Akteure so zu synchronisieren, dass ihre jeweilige Fachexpertise in eine durchgängige Qualitätssicherung eingehen konnte.

P23R gestaltet die Austauschprozesse zwischen Wirtschaft und Verwaltung grundlegend neu. Ein solch grundlegender Paradigmenwechsel kann nur dann gelingen, wenn die beteiligten Personen die Veränderungen als positiv begreifen und akzeptieren. Das Fraunhofer IESE war verantwortlich dafür, geeignete Methoden des Akzeptanz- und Change-Managements zu entwickeln und einzusetzen, um die Kommunikation über das P23R-Prinzip so zu gestalten, dass allen beteiligten Akteuren dessen Nutzen deutlich wird. Hierfür identifizierte das Fraunhofer IESE zielgruppenspezifisch Akzeptanz fördernde und Akzeptanz behindernde Faktoren sowie Erfolgsfaktoren vergleichbarer groß angelegter E-Government-Projekte, um das Projektteam bei der Umsetzung des P23R und bei der Erstellung von Roll-out-Konzepten zu beraten.