SIM-TD

Secure Intelligent Mobility - Test Field Germany

Ensuring efficient and safe mobility for the long term is one of the major pillars of our modern society. In the context of the project SIM-TD (“Sichere Intelligente Mobilität – Testfeld Deutschland” - Safe Intelligent Mobility - Test Field Germany), a first large-scale trial is taking place regarding communication between vehicles, and a study is being undertaken on how intelligent communication between vehicles and the traffic infrastructure can increase traffic safety and traffic efficiency. Individualized and current information about the traffic environment helps the driver avoid accidents and traffic jams and makes better use of the traffic infrastructure.At the same time, communication between different traffic carriers and with the infrastructure (“car-to-X communication”) makes it possible to optimally route traffic and thusreduce CO2 emissions in road traffic.

During the project test phase, the test vehicles will be equipped with wireless databoxes (car communication units) customized to the vehicle. They will “communicate” wirelessly (via specially established W-LAN standards) with corresponding data boxes at selected traffic infrastructure points such as traffic lights or signs (road side units). These forward the data received from the vehicles to traffic centers where they are collected and evaluated in order to enable immediate and precise traffic control. At the same time, the information from the roadside units is transmitted to potentially affected vehicles. Each participating driver will thus receive individual information about the flow of traffic ahead on “his” or “her” route. This wil make it possible to increase traffic efficiency and traffic safety concurrently.

The goal of SIM-TD is to increase traffic safety and traffic efficiency through intelligent vehicle communication. The lessons learned in the field trial regarding car-to-car communication and car-to-infrastructure communication will be used in the standardization of the technology,which will be the basis for a large-scale roll-out on the German and European markets.

As SIM-TD research partners, the software engineers of Frauhofer IESE are responsible, in particular, for the management and control of the requirements phase and the processes of the project SIM-TD. This includes, in particular, coordinating and performing the requirements elicitation (incl. stakeholderanalyses, developing guidelines, setting up templates, etc.) for the elicitation of the C2X functions from the project partners and ensuring continuous quality assurance of the natural language requirements definitions (e.g., Use Cases, etc.).

Furthermore, a pertinent infrastructure and requirements management software was evaluated for the creation of theSIM-TD requirements database and is being maintained inparallel to the project. This software, which is managed byFraunhofer IESE, is mainly used for extracting the requirementsfrom the respective partner specifications and for managing them throughout the course of the entire project. This enablesthe requirements engineers of Fraunhofer IESE to continuallyperform quality and consistency checks of the SIM-TD requirementsand serves as a basis for further traceability analyses and for the change management process.

SIM-TD

Sichere intelligente Mobilität - Testfeld Deutschland

Die nachhaltige Sicherung einer effizienten und sicheren Mobilität ist einer der wesentlichen Stützpfeiler der modernen Gesellschaft. Im Rahmen des Projekts SIM-TD (»Sichere Intelligente Mobilität – Testfeld Deutschland«) wird erstmals in einem Großversuch die Vernetzung von Fahrzeugen erprobt und untersucht, wie intelligente Kommunikation zwischen Fahrzeugen und der Verkehrsinfrastruktur die Verkehrssicherheit und Verkehrseffizienz erhöhen kann. Individualisierte und aktuelle Informationen übder das Verkehrsumfeld helfen dem Fahrer, Unfall- und Stausituationen zu vermeiden und die Verkehrsinfrastruktur besser zu nutzen. Gleichzeitig ermöglicht die Vernetzung der verschiedenen Verkehrsträger untereinander und mit der Infrastruktur (»Car-to-X-Kommunikation«) die optimale Verkehrsführung und damit eine Reduzierung des CO2-Ausstoßes im Straßenverkehr.

Während der Projekttestphase werden die Testfahrzeuge mit drahtlosen und an das Fahrzeug angepassten Datenboxen (Car Communication Units) ausgestattet. Sie »kommunizieren« über Funk (speziell eingerichtete W-LAN-Standards) mit entsprechenden Datenboxen an ausgewählten Verkehrsinfrastrukturpunkten wie Ampeln oder Hinweistafeln (Road Side Units). Diese leiten die Daten der Fahrzeuge an die Verkehrszentralen weiter, wo sie kollektiv erfasst und ausgewertet werden, um eine umgehende und punktgenaue Verkehrslenkung zu ermöglichen. Gleichzeitig werden die Informationen der Road Side Units an potenziell betroffene Fahrzeuge übermittelt. Jeder teilnehmende Fahrer erhält so individuelle Informationen über den weiteren Verkehrsverlauf auf »seiner« Strecke. So können gleichzeitig Verkehrseffizienz und Verkehrssicherheit gesteigert werden.

Das Ziel von SIM-TD ist die Erhöhung der Verkehrssicherheit und Verkehrseffizienz durch intelligente Fahrzeugvernetzung. Die im Feldversuch gewonnenen Erkenntnisse über die Kommunikation von Fahrzeug zu Fahrzeug und Fahrzeug zu Infrastruktur fließen in die Standardisierung der Technologie ein. Dies bildet die Grundlage für eine großflächige, bundes- und europaweite Markteinführung.

Die Softwareingenieure des Frauhofer IESE sind als SIM-TD Forschungspartner insbesondere für die Leitung und Kontrolle der Anforderungsphase und Prozesse des Projekts SIM-TD verantwortlich. Dies beinhaltet im Speziellen die Koordination und Durchführung der Anforderungserhebung (inkl. Stakeholderanalysen, Leitfadenerstellung, Template Set-Up, etc.) für die Erhebung der C2X Funktionen bei den Projektpartnern und eine kontinuierliche Qualitätssicherung der natürlichsprachlichen Anforderungsdefinitionen (z. B. Use Cases etc.).

Desweiteren wurde für die Erstellung der SIM-TD-Anforderungsdatenbank eine entsprechende Infrastruktur und Anforderungsmanagementsoftware evaluiert und projektbegleitend in Betrieb gehalten. Diese vom Fraunhofer IESE verwaltete Software wird vor allem dazu verwendet, die Anforderungen aus den jeweiligen Partnerspezifikationen zu extrahieren und über den gesamten Projektverlauf zu verwalten. Dies ermöglicht es den Anforderungsingenieuren des Fraunhofer IESE, kontinuierliche Qualitäts- und Konsistenzüberprüfungen der SIM-TD-Anforderungen vorzunehmen und dient als Grundlage für weitere Verfolgbarkeitsanalysen und für den Änderungsmanagementprozess.

  • Homepage