Knorr-Bremse: Strategic Variation Management

Strategic Variation Management

The Knorr-Bremse corporation is the leading manufacturer worldwide of braking systems for rail and commercial vehicles. As a technological pacesetter, the company has been a key agent in driving the development, production, sales, and service of modern braking systems for over a hundred years. Knorr-Bremse Systeme für Schienenfahrzeuge GmbH produces innovative pneumatic braking systems for rail vehicles in its business area, and is very successful in this area on the market. Due to different usage scenarios, customer wishes, and regulatory requirements, the braking systems are customized individually to each rail vehicle.

Knorr-Bremse recognized the impending challenges posed by rising complexity and increasing certification requirements early on and collaborated with Fraunhofer IESE in developing a more sustainable reuse approach. In terms of content, the approach offers reusable function components that can be selected according to a specific project and can be efficiently integrated into coherent overall solutions in accordance with predefined instructions for composition.

In the first step, characteristic features were identified in the existing system landscape. They were structured and evaluated and assigned to current as well as future products in a productfeature matrix. This enabled rapid identification of commonalities and differences and thus allowed determining the reuse potential for individual domains and components.

The functions of a braking system are strongly interconnected and at the same time realized in various disciplines. A generic system model was therefore developed in SysML/UML, which describes the functions down to the level of the technical realizations. The system model helps the project members use the available function components efficiently and effectively. A feature model is used to accurately describe adaptation possibilities in the system model. It allows automatic adaptation of requirements, design, implementation, and quality assurance artifacts throughout the model. Once the sustainability of the approach has been demonstrated based on the first function components, the approach will be rolled out broadly to further functions in the next step.

Customer Statement

”The collaboration with Fraunhofer IESE turned out to be a very good decision at all times. IESE developed very concrete and real solution approaches to allow us to master the impending challenges of increasing complexity as well as higher certification requirements. We are grateful for the open, pleasant, and very trustful collaboration and want to continue our successful collaboration in 2014 as well.”

Robert Seitz, Knorr-Bremse Systeme für Schienenfahrzeuge GmbH, System Functions & Architectures, CoC Brake Control

Knorr-Bremse Systeme für Schienenfahrzeuge GmbH

Strategisches Variantenmanagement

Der Knorr-Bremse Konzern ist weltweit der führende Hersteller von Bremssystemen für Schienen- und Nutzfahrzeuge. Als technologischer Schrittmacher treibt das Unternehmen seit über 100 Jahren maßgeblich Entwicklung, Produktion, Vertrieb und Service moderner Bremssysteme voran. Die Knorr-Bremse Systeme für Schienenfahrzeuge GmbH stellt in ihrem Geschäftsbereich innovative pneumatische Bremssysteme für Schienenfahrzeuge her und ist hier im Markt sehr erfolgreich. Aufgrund unterschiedlicher Einsatzszenarien, Kundenwünsche und regulatorischer Anforderungen werden die Bremssysteme individuell auf jedes Schienenfahrzeug zugeschnitten.

Knorr-Bremse hat die drohenden Herausforderungen der steigenden Komplexität sowie der steigenden Zulassungsanforderungen frühzeitig für sich erkannt und zusammen mit dem Fraunhofer IESE einen tragfähigeren Wiederverwendungsansatz entwickelt. Inhaltlich stellt der Ansatz wiederverwendbare Funktionsbausteine bereit, die projektspezifisch ausgewählt und effizient gemäß vorab definierter Bauanleitungen zu stimmigen Gesamtlösungen integriert werden können.

Im ersten Schritt wurden in der existierenden Systemlandschaft charakteristische Merkmale identifiziert, strukturiert und bewertet und aktuellen sowie zukünftigen Produkten in einer Produkt- Feature-Matrix zugeordnet. Dadurch ließen sich schnell Gemeinsamkeiten und Unterschiede identifizieren und das Wiederverwendungspotenzial für einzelne Domänen und Bausteine konnte bestimmt werden.

Die Funktionen eines Bremssystems sind stark miteinander verbunden und zugleich in verschiedenen Disziplinen realisiert. Deshalb wurde ein generisches Systemmodell in SysML/UML erstellt, das die Funktionen bis in die technischen Realisierungen beschreibt. Das Systemmodell hilft den Projektierern, die bereitgestellten Funktionsbauteile effizient und effektiv zu nutzen. Um Anpassungsmöglichkeiten im Systemmodell prägnant zu beschreiben, wird ein Featuremodell genutzt. Dieses ermöglicht durchgängig eine automatische Anpassung von Anforderungs-, Design-, Implementierungs- und Qualitätssicherungsartefakten. Nachdem die Tragfähigkeit des Ansatzes anhand erster Funktionsbausteinen gezeigt wurde, wird der Ansatz im nächsten Schritt breit auf weitere Funktionen ausgerollt.

Kundenstatement

»Die Zusammenarbeit mit dem Fraunhofer IESE erwies sich zu jeder Zeit als eine sehr gute Entscheidung. Es wurden sehr konkrete und reale Lösungsansätze vom IESE erarbeitet, um den drohenden Herausforderungen der steigenden Komplexität sowie höherer Zulassungsanforderungen begegnen zu können. Wir bedanken uns für die offene, angenehme und sehr vertrauensvolle Zusammenarbeit und möchten diese auch 2014 gemeinsam erfolgreich fortsetzen.«

Robert Seitz, Knorr-Bremse Systeme für Schienenfahrzeuge GmbH, System Functions & Architectures, CoC Brake Control