Daimler FleetBoard

Architecture in the Agile Context

Daimler FleetBoard develops and sells telematics-based Internet services for efficient fleet management. Telematics devices in trucks as well as vehicle and transport management services and their operation are part of its portfolio. With the telematics solutions of Daimler FleetBoard, transport companies can save up to 15 percent fuel in construction-site, distribution, and longdistance traffic and can manage their logistics processes better.

For its telematics products, Daimler FleetBoard is developing software for embedded systems and for information systems. For several years the development has been following agile principles and has been built on SCRUM. In order to manage the complexity and quality of the products, a strong focus is placed on software architecture. For this purpose, architecting has been organized similar to SCRUM and has been integrated into the development process.

In order to evaluate architecting in the agile context and possibly improve it, Daimler FleetBoard commissioned Fraunhofer IESE with the performance of an independent review. In this review, it was checked to which extent the current practices serve to accomplish the goals at Daimler FleetBoard and to which extent best practices are adhered to.

As a basis of the evaluation, Fraunhofer IESE worked with about 20 stakeholders to elicit the most important goals to be accomplished by architecting. In summary, these are high product quality and suitable standards for the development. Based upon this, practices in the following areas were discussed:

  • Organizational design, teams, and roles
  • Processes, activities, and tools used (e.g., architecture requirements, -design, -documentation, -implementation, -evaluation, terminology)
  • Development artifacts and results

Results & Conclusions

  • Whereas the realization that agile development does not work without adequate architecting is only gaining ground slowly in general, Daimler FleetBoard already realized this years ago and invested in architecting. Also, the work is consistently aligned with the goals.
  • Daimler FleetBoard understands architecture as work in progress and covers all important activities.
  • Daimler FleetBoard has explicitly established an “Architecture Steering Committee“, which is organized in accordance with agile principles.

Customer Statement

“By intensifying its architecting process, Daimler FleetBoard chose the right path several years ago and is continuing to work on further improvements based on recommendations following the review.“

Thomas Kindler, Manager Server Plattform, Daimler FleetBoard

Daimler FleetBoard

Architektur im agilen Kontext

Daimler FleetBoard entwickelt und vertreibt telematikgestützte Internetdienste für effizientes Flottenmanagement. Sowohl die Telematik-Endgeräte im LKW als auch Fahrzeug- und Transportmanagementdienste und deren Betrieb gehören zum Angebot. Mit den Telematiklösungen von Daimler FleetBoard können Transportunternehmen im Bau-, Verteiler- und Fernverkehr bis zu 15 Prozent Kraftstoff einsparen und ihre Logistikprozesse besser managen.

Daimler FleetBoard entwickelt für sein Telematikprodukt Software für eingebettete Systeme und Informationssysteme. Seit mehreren Jahren folgt die Entwicklung agilen Prinzipien und setzt auf SCRUM auf. Um die Komplexität und Qualität der Produkte zu beherrschen, wird ein starker Fokus auf Softwarearchitektur gelegt. Dazu wurde die Architekturarbeit ähnlich zu SCRUM organisiert und in den Entwicklungsprozess integriert.

Um die Architekturarbeit im agilen Kontext auf den Prüfstand zu stellen und eventuell zu verbessern, beauftragte Daimler FleetBoard das Fraunhofer IESE mit einem unabhängigen Review. In diesem Review wurde überprüft, inwieweit die aktuellen Praktiken zur Erreichung der Ziele bei Daimler FleetBoard dienen und inwieweit Best Practices eingehalten werden.

Als Grundlage der Bewertung erhob das Fraunhofer IESE mit ca. 20 Stakeholdern die wichtigsten Ziele, die mit der Architekturarbeit erreicht werden sollen: Aggregiert sind das die hohe Produktqualität und geeignete Vorgaben für die Entwicklung. Basierend darauf wurden Praktiken in den folgenden Bereichen diskutiert:

  • „„Organisationsgestaltung, Teams und Rollen
  • „„Prozesse, Aktivitäten und eingesetzte Tools (z. B. Architekturanforderungen, -design, -dokumentation, -umsetzung, -bewertung, Terminologie)
  • „„Entwicklungsartefakte und Ergebnisse

Ergebnisse & Schlussfolgerungen

  • „„Während sich die Erkenntnis, dass agile Entwicklung nicht ohne geeignete Architekturarbeit funktioniert, allgemein nur langsam durchsetzt, hat Daimler FleetBoard das schon seit Jahren erkannt und in Architekturarbeit investiert. Außerdem ist die Arbeit konsequent auf die Ziele ausgerichtet.
  • „„Daimler FleetBoard begreift Architektur als kontinuierliche Arbeit und deckt alle wichtigen Aktivitäten ab.
  • „„Daimler FleetBoard hat explizit ein »Architecture Steering Committee« etabliert, das nach agilen Prinzipien organisiert ist.

Kundenstatement

»Daimler FleetBoard hat mit seiner Verstärkung der Architekturarbeit vor einigen Jahren den richtigen Weg eingeschlagen und arbeitet an weiteren Verbesserungen basierend auf Empfehlungen nach dem Review.«

Thomas Kindler, Leiter Server Plattform, Daimler FleetBoard