CRYSTAL

Critical System Engineering Acceleration

The process of developing, governing, and operating modern safety-critical embedded systems is highly complex and requires specialized tools supporting different activities throughout the entire product lifecycle. Therefore, OEMs and suppliers are typically operating a large set of COTS tools from different vendors, often complemented by custom in-house solutions. The overall process can only be effective and efficient if it supports collaboration among its stakeholders and, consequently, interoperability between the tools they are using. Furthermore, the interoperability aspect between tools integrated into such an environment is becoming more and more crucial for successful product engineering. Today, tool integration is often done in an ad-hoc manner by creating proprietary bridges between each pair of tools. Such an approach does not scale, since the number of required bridges grows exponentially with the number of employed tools. Moreover, the resulting system becomes extremely vulnerable to common changes such as version upgrades from tool vendors, and sooner or later the effort for maintaining a large set of bridges is no longer acceptable. The main technical challenge in addressing this problem is the lack of open and common interoperability technologies supported by the different tools that generate and provide access to data covering the entire product lifecycle of safety-critical embedded systems.

The ARTEMIS Joint Undertaking project CRYSTAL (CRitical sYSTem engineering AcceLeration) has identified this need and takes up the challenge to establish and push forward an Interoperability Specification (IOS) and a Reference Technology Platform (RTP) as a European standard for safety-critical systems. This standard will allow loosely coupled tools to share and interlink their data based on standardized and open Web technologies that enable common interoperability among various lifecycle domains. This reduces the complexity of the entire integration process significantly. Compared to many other research projects, CRYSTAL is strongly industry-oriented and will provide ready-to-use integrated tool chains having a mature technology readiness level (up to TRL 7). In order to reach this goal, CRYSTAL is driven by real-world industrial use cases from the automotive, aerospace, rail and health sector and builds on the results of successful predecessor projects like CEASAR, iFEST, and MBAT on the European and national levels.

Creating and establishing a new standard on a large scale in an already consolidated market cannot be achieved by small individual organizations. With a budget of more than 82 million euros and 71 partners from ten different European countries, CRYSTAL has the critical mass to accomplish this endeavor. The project consortium is made up of participants from all relevant stakeholders, including OEMs, suppliers, tool vendors, and academia.

Within CRYSTAL, Fraunhofer IESE contributes to tool and method integration in the fields of Safety Engineering (C²FT and SCT modeling methods), Requirements Engineering (model-based requirements engineering in SysML), Variability Management (System Family Engineering Framework and Variant Analysis), and Virtual Prototypes (holistic system simulation). The contributions to IOS and RTP are being developed in close collaboration with industrial partners in the automotive and aerospace application domains.

Throughout the entire project, CRYSTAL will stay in close contact with standardization organizations like ASAM, ProSTEP iViP, OASIS, OMG, CENELEC, and others in order to build on existing achievements and join forces by collaborating in the standardization process. The aims of CRYSTAL are ambitious and the expected results will have significant economical and societal impacts. OEMs will benefit from the reduced system design costs due to the improved integration of system analysis, safety analysis, and system exploration tools. In addition, the CRYSTAL IOS will increase flexibility for all stakeholders and has the potential to deeply impact the market on a global level. OEMs can easily combine tools from different vendors, and tool vendors will be able to find new market opportunities in an open and extensible environment.

Funded by

Grant No.: 01IS13001O

CRYSTAL

Critical System Engineering Acceleration

Moderne sicherheitskritische eingebettete Systeme zu entwickeln und zu betreiben ist ein hochkomplexer Prozess, der spezialisierte Werkzeuge zur Unterstützung verschiedener Aktivitäten über den gesamten Produktlebenszyklus hinweg erfordert. OEMs und Zulieferer verwenden daher meist eine Vielzahl an COTS-Werkzeugen verschiedener Anbieter, oft ergänzt durch maßgeschneiderte Eigenlösungen. Der Gesamtprozess kann aber nur dann effektiv und effizient sein, wenn er die Zusammenarbeit aller beteiligten Stakeholder unterstützt und folglich die Interoperabilität zwischen den verwendeten Werkzeugen sicherstellt. Heutzutage findet Werkzeug-Integration oft ad hoc statt, indem jeweils zwischen zwei Werkzeugen proprietäre Brücken erstellt werden. Ein solcher Ansatz skaliert jedoch nicht, da die Zahl der benötigten Brücken mit der Zahl der eingesetzten Werkzeuge exponentiell zunimmt. Die daraus entstehende Werkzeugkette wird ferner extrem anfällig für Änderungen, wie Versionsupgrades seitens des Werkzeug-Anbieters. Früher oder später ist der Aufwand für die Wartung so vieler Brücken nicht mehr akzeptabel. Die größte technische Herausforderung bei diesem Problem ist der Mangel an offenen und gemeinsam genutzten Interoperabilitätstechnologien, welche die Generierung und den Zugriff auf Daten entlang des gesamten Produktlebenszyklus sicherheitskritischer eingebetteter Systeme ermöglichen.

Das ARTEMIS Joint Undertaking Projekt CRYSTAL (CRitical sYSTem engineering AcceLeration) hat diesen Bedarf erkannt und die Herausforderung angenommen, eine Interoperabilitätsspezifikation (IOS) und eine Referenztechnologieplattform (RTP) als europäischen Standard für sicherheitskritische Systeme zu etablieren und voranzutreiben. Mithilfe dieser Standards können lose gekoppelte Werkzeuge dann ihre Daten auf der Basis standardisierter, offener Webtechnologien austauschen und miteinander verlinken. Dies reduziert die Komplexität des gesamten Werkzeug-Integrationsprozesses erheblich. Verglichen mit vielen anderen Forschungsprojekten ist CRYSTAL stark industrieorientiert und wird gebrauchsfertige, integrierte Werkzeugketten auf hohem Technology Readiness Level (bis TRL 7) liefern. Um dieses Ziel zu erreichen, wird CRYSTAL durch industrielle Use Cases aus den Branchen Automotive, Luft- und Raumfahrt, Bahn und Gesundheitswesen getrieben. CRYSTAL baut auf den Ergebnissen erfolgreicher Vorgängerprojekte auf europäischer und nationaler Ebene, wie CEASAR, iFEST und MBAT, auf.

Neue umfassende Standards lassen sich in einem bereits konsolidierten Markt nicht von einzelnen, kleinen Unternehmen schaffen und etablieren. Mit einem Budget von mehr als 82 Mio. € und 71 Partnern aus zehn verschiedenen europäischen Ländern verfügt CRYSTAL jedoch über die kritische Masse, um die ehrgeizigen Ziele zu erreichen. Das Projektkonsortium umfasst Vertreter aller relevanten Interessengruppen, inkl. OEMs, Zulieferer, Werkzeug-Anbieter und Wissenschaftler.

Im Rahmen von CRYSTAL trägt das Fraunhofer IESE zur Integration von Werkzeugen und Methoden in den Bereichen Safety Engineering (C²FT und SCT Modellierungsmethoden), Requirements Engineering (modellbasiertes Requirements Engineering in SysML), Variabilitätsmanagement (System Family Engineering Framework und Variant Analysis) und Virtuelle Prototypen (ganzheitliche Systemsimulation) bei. Die Beiträge zu IOS und RTP werden in enger Zusammenarbeit mit Industriepartnern aus den Branchen Automotive und Luft- und Raumfahrt entwickelt.

Während des gesamten Projekts steht CRYSTAL in engem Kontakt mit Normierungsgremien, darunter ASAM, ProSTEP iViP, OASIS, OMG und CENELEC. Die von CRYSTAL erwarteten Resultate werden bedeutende wirtschaftliche und gesellschaftliche Auswirkungen haben. Der Nutzen für OEMs liegt in niedrigeren Systementwurfskosten aufgrund der verbesserten Integration von System- und Sicherheitsanalysen sowie Explorationswerkzeugen. Die CRYSTAL IOS wird die Flexibilität aller Stakeholder erhöhen und hat das Potenzial, den Markt auf globaler Ebene stark zu beeinflussen. OEMs werden Werkzeuge verschiedener Anbieter leichter kombinieren können, und für Werkzeug-Anbieter eröffnen sich neue Marktchancen in einer offenen, erweiterbaren Umgebung.

Gefördert vom