Testo AG

Standard-Compliant Monitoring of Measurement Data

Securely capture production parameters electronically that require verification

In the production of food or pharmaceutical products, there are high requirements regarding production, storage, and transportation conditions in order to exclude any hazard for the consumer. This is the reason why critical process parameters such as temperature and moisture are carefully monitored and documented. Nowadays, electronic records are preferred. With its guideline 21 CFR Part 11, the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) sets a recognized standard that determines the conditions under which electronic records and electronic signatures are recognized by the FDA as valid proof.

Testo AG in Lenzkirch is a leading manufacturer of measuring and monitoring systems. With the measuring system Saveris™ Testo offers a product family for the distributed, wireless monitoring and recording of temperature and moisture values. Testo has also developed an FDAcompliantSaveris variant that corresponds to the particularly strict requirements of Part 11. Since the regulations of 21 CFR Part 11 allow some room for interpretation, the manufacturers and users of Part 11-regulated systems are worried whether their technical and organizational implementation will really be accepted by the FDA. Testo therefore decided to collaborate with Fraunhofer IESE in order to have the standard compliance of its Saveris series independently validated. With Fraunhofer IESE, they found a natural competence partner for such a check, since most of the requirements relate to properties of software and software-related processes.

In this collaboration project, the task of Fraunhofer IESE mainly consisted of eliciting and running through all Use Cases that are Part11-relevant when using the measuring system and to check whether all the requirements of the CFR guideline are fulfilled completely in terms of such performance features as authentication, authorization, user guidance, data integrity, dataauthenticity, or data availability. The top principle of 21 CFR Part 11 is that only authorized employees may obtain access to the measurement data, and that each interference with the data or with the measuring system must be traceable at all times and must be allocable unambiguously to a specific user. Furthermore, it must be ensured that the recorded data can be reproduced true to the original at all times during the entire burden of proof period and can be presented to the FDA for checking in a suitable format.

For the conformance checks, a reference configuration was set up at the institute and subjected to systematic tests. During the course of the evaluation, Fraunhofer IESE was able to identify various critical usage steps whose technical implementation was modified systematically in order to ensure unambiguous standard compliance even under adverse conditions and at acceptable costs in the best possible way. Concurrently, instructions were designed for the system user to help him/her operate the system in compliance with the guidelines.

The result was a checking report created by Fraunhofer that provides comments on all requirements of 21 CFR Part 11, point for point, and demonstrates how the Saveris system implements the respective requirement and which concomitant measures (so-called proceduralcontrols) the system user should take to fulfill his burden of proof towards the FDA. With its documented standard compliance, the measurement system Saveris™ of Testo AG opens up promising market opportunities in FDA-regulated usage environments.

Testo AG

Standardkonformes Messdatenmonitoring

Sichere elektronische Erfassung nachweispflichtiger Produktionsparameter

Bei der Herstellung von Lebensmitteln oder pharmazeutischen Produkten gelten hohe Anforderungen an die Produktions-, Lager- und Transportbedingungen, um Gefährdungen für den Verbraucher auszuschließen. Daher werden kritische Prozessparameter wie etwa Temperatur und Feuchte sorgfältig überwacht und dokumentiert. Heute bevorzugt man elektronische Aufzeichnungen. Die US-amerikanische Behörde für Lebensmittel- und Arzneimittelsicherheit (Food and Drug Administration, FDA) setzt mit ihrer Richtlinie 21 CFR Part 11 einen anerkannten Standard, der die Bedingungen festgelegt, unter denen elektronischen Aufzeichnungen und elektronische Unterschriften von der FDA als gültige Nachweise anerkannt werden.

Die Testo AG in Lenzkirch ist ein führender Hersteller von Mess- und Monitoring-Systemen. Mit dem Messsystem Saveris™ bietet Testo eine Produktfamilie für die verteilte, drahtlose Überwachung und Aufzeichnung von Temperatur- und Feuchtewerten. Testo hat auch eine FDA-konforme Saveris-Variante entwickelt, die den besonders strengen Vorgaben des Part 11 entspricht. Da die Bestimmungen des 21 CFR Part 11 einigen Interpretationsspielraum zulassen, herrscht bei den Herstellern und Anwendern Part11-regulierter Systeme erhebliche Unsicherheit, ob ihre technische und organisatorische Umsetzung von der FDA auch wirklich anerkannt wird. Daher suchte Testo die Kooperation mit dem Fraunhofer IESE, um die Standardkonformität seiner Saveris-Reihe unabhängig validieren zu lassen. Im Fraunhofer IESE fand sich ein natürlicher Kompetenzpartner für eine derartige Überprüfung, da sich die meisten Anforderungen auf Eigenschaften von Software und softwarenahen Prozessen beziehen.

In diesem Kooperationsprojekt bestand die Aufgabe des Fraunhofer IESE vor allem darin, alle Part11-relevanten Use Cases beim Einsatz des Messsystems zu erheben, durchzuspielen und zu prüfen, ob alle Anforderungen der CFR-Richtlinie vollständig erfüllt sind hinsichtlich solcher Leistungsmerkmale wie Authentisierung, Autorisierung, Benutzerführung, Datenintegrität, Datenauthentizität oder Datenverfügbarkeit. Oberstes Prinzip des 21 CFR Part 11 ist, dass nur autorisierte Mitarbeiter Zugriff auf Messdaten erhalten dürfen, und dass jeder Eingriff in die Daten oder in das Messsystem jederzeit nachvollziehbar und einem eindeutigen Anwender zuschreibbar sein muss. Darüber hinaus muss gewährleistet sein, dass die aufgezeichneten Daten über den gesamten Zeitraum der Nachweispflicht jederzeit originalgetreu reproduziert und der FDA in geeignetem Format zur Prüfung vorgelegt werden können.

Für die Konformitätsprüfungen wurde im Institut eine Referenzkonfiguration aufgebaut und systematischen Tests unterzogen. Im Zuge der Evaluierung konnte Fraunhofer IESE verschiedene kritische Bedienschritte ermitteln, deren technische Umsetzung gezielt modifiziert wurde, um die Standardkonformität auch unter widrigen Umständen zweifelsfrei und zu vertretbaren Kosten bestmöglich zu gewährleisten. Begleitend dazu wurden Hinweise für den Systemanwender konzipiert, die ihm helfen, das System richtlinienkonform zu betreiben.

Im Ergebnis erstellte Fraunhofer einen Prüfbericht, der zu allen Anforderungen des 21 CFR Part 11 Punkt für Punkt Stellung nimmt und darlegt, wie das Saveris-System die entsprechende Anforderung umsetzt und welche begleitenden Maßnahmen (so genannte Procedural Controls) der Systemanwender ergreifen sollte, um seinen Nachweispflichten gegenüber der FDA gerecht zu werden. Mit seiner dokumentierten Standardkonformität eröffnet das Messsystem Saveris™ der Testo AG aussichtsreiche Marktchancen in FDA-regulierten Einsatzumgebungen.