System Companies, eCommerce, and Portals

A moderated Requirements Elicitation format

Customer Satisfaction through User Experience

Together with the operator of a call center of a large German telecommunications company, Fraunhofer IESE performed a project to increase the employees’ User Experience through innovative interaction concepts.

Challenge

In the call center domain, positive User Experience is crucial for the achievement of business goals. Call agents handle customer problems with the help of a Knowledge Management System and deal with the customers. In doing so, the call agents establish relationships with the callers. Emotions such as irritation and frustration, as well as joy and satisfaction are experienced.

Method Used

In this project, we applied our special workshop “User Experience for Business Applications - KREA-FUN”. This workshop allowed us to identify innovative features that generated a positive emotional effect among the call agents on the one hand, and contributed to the achievement of business goals due to an increase in customer satisfaction on the other hand.

Result

The call agents’  Knowledge Management System was changed using only a small number of interaction concepts, so that the call agents experienced more joy during their work, which was also reflected in a significant improvement of the satisfaction reported by the call center customers. This was proven empirically over a long period of time.

This shows that UX can be a bridge between business goals and satisfied, motivated employees.

Systemhäuser, eCommerce und Portale

Ein moderiertes Anforderungserhebungsformat

Kundenzufriedenheit durch User Experience

Gemeinsam mit dem Betreiber eines Call Centers eines großen deutschen Telekommunikationsunternehmens führte das Fraunhofer IESE ein Projekt durch, um die User Experience der Mitarbeiter durch innovative Interaktionskonzepte zu steigern.

Herausforderung

In der Call-Center-Branche ist eine positive User Experience äußerst wichtig für das Erreichen von Geschäftszielen. Mitarbeiter von Call Centern lösen Kundenprobleme mithilfe eines Knowledge Management Systems und haben Kontakt mit Kunden. Dabei bauen die Call-Center-Mitarbeiter Beziehungen zu den Anrufern auf. Sie erleben Gefühle wie Irritation und Frustration sowie Freude und Zufriedenheit.

Methode

In diesem Projekt setzten wir unseren speziellen Workshop “User Experience für Geschäftsanwendungen - KREA-FUN” ein. Dieser Workshop erlaubte es uns, innovative Eigenschaften zu identifizieren, die einerseits eine positive emotionale Wirkung bei den Call-Center-Mitarbeitern auslösten und andererseits durch eine Steigerung der Kundenzufriedenheit zum Erreichen der Geschäftsziele beitrugen.

Ergebnis

Das Knowledge Management System der Call-Center-Mitarbeiter wurde mit nur wenigen Interaktionskonzepten so geändert, dass die Mitarbeiter mehr Freude bei ihrer Arbeit erlebten, was sich auch in einer signifikanten Verbesserung der Zufriedenheit widerspiegelte, über die die Kunden des Call Centers berichteten. Dies wurde über einen langen Zeitraum hinweg empirisch bewiesen.

Dies zeigt, dass UX eine Brücke zwischen Geschäftszielen und zufriedenen, motivierten Mitarbeitern sein kann.