Service: Security Engineering

Our policies for secure software designs and implementations help you to avoid security vulnerabilities and to initiate appropriate technical and organizational security measures in all phases of development and operation.

360° security engineering for your IT security concept

In security engineering, our experts of Fraunhofer IESE offer comprehensive service in the area of IT security. We have extensive experience in a variety of project constellations. Our competencies are subdivided into the following areas:

  • Auditing and evaluation of IT security, including network penetration tests
  • Software security assessment and compliance checks
  • Support through solutions for (automatic) document classification
  • Mediation between business, usability, and security

Auditing and evaluation of IT security including network penetration tests

We have been performing IT security checks within the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft since 2002 and provide consulting regarding its IT security coordination. Checks are performed for Fraunhofer institutes as well as for central services of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft. Our security engineering and the regular checks are continuously developed further and are based on the ISO 27000 series. The current checking catalog includes, among other things, the Internet connection concept with perimeter router and firewall, the communication services and the core network services, the network, virtualization, data storage and data backup, client security and mobile devices, and physical security.

In addition to these things, we perform network penetration tests. For this purpose, we have built a professional tool suite for scanning networks and services (read team activities). In addition to the identification of weak points, it also includes suggestions for suitable countermeasures and the hardening of systems and services. We also have project experience in the area of “WebExploits”, the use of special search engines (Shodan, PunkSpider), and checks regarding the use of SSL/TLS (incl. X.509v2 certificates).

Software security assessment and compliance checks

In the area of security assessment and compliance checks, we assess products and components in terms of their compliance with standards and their fulfillment of security requirements. This includes, for example, the fulfillment of domain-specific security standards such as 21 CFR Part 11 or proof of sufficient resistance against IT security threats, as well as adherence to best practices of IT security and avoidance of known vulnerabilities.

In addition, we perform threat analyses on behalf of our customers and support them in the elicitation of security requirements. For this purpose, we provide a structured and systematic method for the elicitation of IT security requirements and accompany the process.

We also assess technologies for specific application contexts (e.g., use in Cloud environments) and support risk assessment

Support through solutions for (automatic) document classification

Data and documents (customer data, IP, personal data, etc.) must be adequately protected. To do so, they must be classified so that the correct security measures can take effect. Classification rules are determined through internal requirements (e.g., ISMS, corporate specifications, organizational rules and regulations) as well as through external requirements (e.g., laws).

We offer tool support for the classification of your documents with the MYDATA plugins for Microsoft Office. Our components support you in classifying documents in accordance with your corporate guidelines and automate adherence to the specified measures. Our MYDATA plugins support Microsoft Word, Excel, PowerPoint, and Outlook.

Finding solution alternatives with our mediators for business, usability, and security

The goal of carrying out professional security engineering and establishing an IT security concept faces not only technical challenges. In practice, conflicts between security and (the optimization of) business processes are common. The reason for this is that not all functions desired by a business or a user can be easily implemented, due to security concerns or issues. For example, comprehensive data elicitation to optimize processes makes sense, but may jeopardize the privacy of employees or users.

Our experts mediate in this area of potential conflicts. To do so, they elicit requirements and concerns from both sides. They develop solution alternatives as a transparent basis for decision-making and mediate between the parties. We have comprehensive competencies, for instance in the areas of User Experience and Security, from more than 15 years of working in joint projects.

Projects and References

  • Security and Conformity Checks at Testo AG
  • Secure Software Engineering for Embedded Systems with John Deere
  • Conformity Evaluation at Roche Diagnostics
  • Auditing of IT Security and Consulting for Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft 

You may also be interested in:

Dienstleistung:
Security Engineering

Unsere Richtlinien für sichere Softwareentwürfe und -implementierung helfen Ihnen, Sicherheitsschwachstellen zu vermeiden und in allen Phasen der Entwicklung und des Betriebs angemessene technische und organisatorische Sicherheitsmaßnahmen zu ergreifen.

360° Security Engineering für Ihr IT-Sicherheitskonzept

Im Security Engineering bieten Ihnen unsere Experten des Fraunhofer IESE einen umfassenden Service im Bereich IT-Sicherheit an. Wir blicken hierbei auf umfassende Erfahrungen in unterschiedlichen Projektkonstellationen zurück. Unsere Kompetenzen unterteilen sich hierbei in die nachfolgenden Bereiche:

  • Auditierung und Bewertung der IT-Sicherheit einschließlich Netzwerkpenetrationstests
  • Software Security Assessment and Compliance Checks
  • Unterstützung durch Lösungen zur (automatischen) Dokumentenklassifikation
  • Mediation zwischen Business, Usability und Security

Auditierung und Bewertung der IT-Sicherheit einschließlich Netzwerkpenetrationstests

Wir führen seit 2002 die IT-Sicherheitsüberprüfungen innerhalb der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft durch und beraten die IT-Sicherheitskoordination. Hierbei werden sowohl Fraunhofer-Einrichtungen als auch zentrale Dienste der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft überprüft. Unser Security Engineering und die regelmäßigen Überprüfungen werden hierbei kontinuierlich weiterentwickelt und orientieren sich an der ISO27000-Reihe. Der aktuelle Prüfkatalog umfasst hierbei u.a. das Internetverbindungskonzept mit Perimeter-Router und Firewall, die Kommunikationsdienste und Core Network Services, Netzwerk, Virtualisierung, Datenspeicherung und Datensicherung, Client-Sicherheit und mobile Geräte und physische Sicherheit.

Neben diesen Punkten führen wir Netzwerkpenetrationstests durch. Hierzu wurde eine professionelle Tool Suite zum Scannen von Netzwerken und Diensten (Read-Team-Aktivitäten) aufgebaut. Dies umfasst neben der Identifizierung von Schwachstellen auch Vorschläge für geeignete Gegenmaßnahmen und die Härtung von Systemen und Diensten. Weiterhin haben wir Projekterfahrungen im Bereich »WebExploits«, Verwendung spezieller Suchmaschinen (Shodan, PunkSpider) und die Überprüfung hinsichtlich der Verwendung von SSL/TLS (inkl. X.509v2-Zertifikaten).

Software Security Assessment and Compliance Checks

Im Bereich Security Assessment und Compliance Checks bewerten wir Produkte und Komponenten hinsichtlich Standardkonformität und Erfüllung von Sicherheitsanforderungen. Hierzu zählen bspw. die Erfüllung domänenspezifischer Sicherheitsstandards wie 21 CFR Part 11 oder der Nachweis ausreichender Resistenz gegen IT-Sicherheitsbedrohungen bis hin zur Einhaltung von Best Practices der IT-Sicherheit und Vermeidung bekannter Schwachstellen.

Zudem führen wir im Kundenauftrag Bedrohungsanalysen durch und unterstützen Kunden bei der Erhebung von Sicherheitsanforderungen. Hierzu stellen wir eine strukturierte und systematische Methode zur Erhebung von IT-Sicherheitsanforderungen zur Verfügung und begleiten den Prozess.

Weiterhin bewerten wir Technologien für bestimmte Anwendungskontexte (bspw. Einsatz in Cloud-Umgebungen) und unterstützen die Risikobewertung.

Unterstützung durch Lösungen zur (automatischen) Dokumentenklassifikation

Daten und Dokumente (Kundendaten, IP, Personaldaten etc.) müssen adäquat geschützt werden. Dazu müssen diese klassifiziert werden, damit die richtigen Sicherheitsmaßnahmen greifen können. Klassifizierungsregeln sind festgelegt durch interne Regelungen (bspw. ISMS, Konzernvorgaben, Organisationsanweisungen) sowie durch externe Vorgaben (bspw. Gesetze).

Wir bieten Werkzeugunterstützung bei der Klassifikation Ihrer Dokumente durch die MYDATA-Erweiterungen für Microsoft Office. Unsere Komponenten unterstützen Sie bei der Dokumentenklassifizierung entsprechend den Unternehmensrichtlinien und automatisieren die Einhaltung von vorgeschriebenen Maßnahmen. Unsere MYDATA-Erweiterungen unterstützen Microsoft Word, Excel, PowerPoint und Outlook.

Lösungsalternativen mit unseren Mediatoren finden für Business, Usability und Security

Das Ziel, ein professionelles Security Engineering durchzuführen und ein IT-Sicherheitskonzept zu etablieren, ist nicht nur mit technischen Herausforderungen konfrontiert. In der Praxis gibt es immer wieder Spannungen zwischen Security und (der Optimierung von) Geschäftsprozessen. Dies liegt daran, dass nicht alle durch das Business oder den Anwender gewünschten Funktionen ohne weiteres umgesetzt werden können, da Sicherheitsbedenken oder -problematiken bestehen. Zum Beispiel ist eine umfassende Datenerhebung zur Prozessoptimierung sinnvoll, gefährdet aber ggf. die Privatsphäre der Mitarbeiter oder Nutzer.

Unsere Experten vermitteln im genannten Spannungsfeld. Sie erheben dazu die Anforderungen und Bedenken beider Seiten. Sie erarbeiten Lösungsalternativen als nachvollziehbare Entscheidungsgrundlage und vermitteln zwischen den Parteien. Wir verfügen über umfassende Kompetenzen bspw. in den Bereichen User Experience und Security aus mehr als 15 Jahren gemeinsamer Projektarbeit.

Projekte und Referenzen

  • Sicherheits- und Konformitätsbewertung bei Testo AG
  • Secure Software Engineering für eingebettete Systeme mit John Deere
  • Konformitätsbewertung bei Roche Diagnostics
  • Auditierung der IT-Sicherheit und Beratung der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft