safeTbox

Our free safeTbox suite shows how model-based safety engineering and systems engineering can be integrated comprehensively and effectively.

safeTbox: Tool for the development & certification of safety-critical systems

How to ensure functional safety in development?

In the development of safety-critical systems, it is essential to guarantee functional safety. For this purpose, different analyses and development artifacts must be created in line with the specifications of relevant standards (e.g., IEC 61508, EN 50128, ISO 26262, ISO 25119, ISO 13849). From a tool perspective, this is currently being done primarily with document processing and spreadsheet tools such as Word and Excel. However, as the complexity of systems continues to increase, these tools reach their limits, so that important properties such as maintainability and traceability can no longer be guaranteed. Ultimately this results in problems regarding efficiency and quality, which in the best case only costs money and in the worst case human lives.

safeTbox helps to reduce risks and costs

A remedy to this issue is provided by model-based systems and safety engineering techniques and methods paired with adequate tool support. In our safeTbox tool, the common activities necessary in the context of systematic safety engineering, such as hazard analysis and risk assessment, safety analysis, as well as the development of a safety concept and the synthesis of a safety case, are seamlessly integrated with systems engineering techniques.

For example, safeTbox offers a modeling technique for the specification of the system architecture that permits assigning failure models directly to system artifacts and thus guaranteeing the respective traceability.

Grafik safeTbox - Architecture Design, Fraunhofer IESE
© Fraunhofer IESE
Graphic safeTbox - Architecture Design
Grafik safeTbox - Fault Analysis, Fraunhofer IESE
© Fraunhofer IESE
Graphic safeTbox - Fault Analysis

In addition to linking failure models and architecture, safeTbox permits the creation of dynamic links between all development artifacts. These links make it possible to easily find referenced elements as well as to navigate to these.

Without exception, the modeling techniques integrated in safeTbox have been developed in accordance with the concept of modularization (for instance component fault trees (CFTs), system components and system functions, safety concepts) in order to support easy replacement of components and thus to increase the maintainability of the developed systems and to enable efficient reuse of components or subsystems in new projects.  

Grafik safeTbox - Hazard Analysis, Fraunhofer IESE
© Fraunhofer IESE
Grafik safeTbox - Hazard Analysis
Grafik safeTbox: Safety Argumentation, Fraunhofer IESE
© Fraunhofer IESE
Grafik safeTbox: Safety Argumentation

Moreover, safeTbox offers a number of features for improving usability and for partial automation. In addition to simplified navigation through element structures, safeTbox users are supported, among other things, by consistency checks regarding element interfaces, the possibility to edit and export the model elements in tabular form, and compatibility among projects in different safeTbox versions.

Free test license for safeTbox

safeTbox is an extension of the commercial modeling tool Enterprise Architect (EA). Accordingly, EA is indispensable for the use of safeTbox. However, this also means that all features offered by EA are available. Further information and an EA sample project can be found on the official safeTbox website, from where a free test license can also be obtained.

safeTbox

Unsere kostenlose safeTbox-Suite zeigt, wie modellbasiertes Safety Engineering und Systems Engineering umfassend und effektiv integriert werden können.

safeTbox: Tool für die Entwicklung & Zertifizierung von sicherheitskritischen Systemen

Wie kann in der Entwicklung die funktionale Sicherheit gewährleistet werden?

Bei der Entwicklung sicherheitskritischer Systeme ist die Gewährleistung der funktionalen Sicherheit (Safety) unabdingbar. Zu diesem Zweck müssen entlang der Vorgaben einschlägiger Standards (z.B. IEC 61508, EN 50128, ISO 26262, ISO 25119, ISO 13849) unterschiedliche Analysen und Entwicklungsartefakte erstellt werden. Aus Werkzeugsicht wird dies aktuell in erster Linie mit Dokumentenverabeitungs- und Tabellenkalkulationswerkzeugen wie Word und Excel durchgeführt. Bei immer weiter steigender Komplexität der Systeme stößt man hier jedoch an Grenzen, sodass wichtige Eigenschaften wie Wartbarkeit, Nachvollziehbarkeit und Verfolgbarkeit nicht mehr gewährleistet werden können. Letztlich resultiert dies in Problemen bezüglich Effizienz und Qualität, was im günstigsten Fall lediglich Geld kostet und im schlimmsten Fall Menschenleben.  

safeTbox hilft Risiken und Kosten zu reduzieren

Abhilfe schaffen Techniken und Methoden des modellbasierten Systems- und Safety-Engineering gepaart mit adäquater Werkzeugunterstützung. In unserem Werkzeug safeTbox werden die üblichen, im Rahmen eines systematischen Safety Engineering notwendigen, Tätigkeiten, wie Gefahrenanalyse und Risikobeurteilung, Sicherheitsanalyse sowie das Erstellen eines Sicherheitskonzepts und das Synthetisieren eines Sicherheitsnachweises, nahtlos mit Techniken des Systems- Engineerings integriert.

So bietet safeTbox zum Beispiel eine Modellierungstechnik zur Spezifikation der Systemarchitektur, welche es erlaubt, Fehlermodelle direkt Systemartefakten zuzuordnen und somit die diesbezügliche Nachvollziehbarkeit und Verfolgbarkeit zu gewährleisten.

Grafik safeTbox - Architecture Design, Fraunhofer IESE
© Fraunhofer IESE
Grafik safeTbox - Architecture Design
Grafik safeTbox - Fault Analysis, Fraunhofer IESE
© Fraunhofer IESE
Grafik safeTbox - Fault Analysis

Zusätzlich zu der Verlinkung von Fehlermodellen und Architektur erlaubt es safeTbox, dynamische Verbindungen zwischen allen Entwicklungsartefakten zu erstellen. Diese Verbindungen ermöglichen sowohl ein einfaches Auffinden von referenzierten Elementen als auch die Navigation zu diesen.

Die in safeTbox integrierten Modellierungstechniken wurden ausnahmslos nach dem Konzept der Modularisierung entwickelt (zum Beispiel Komponentenfehlerbäume (CFTs), Systemkomponenten und -funktionen, Sicherheitskonzepte), um den einfachen Austausch von Komponenten zu unterstützen und damit die Wartbarkeit der entwickelten Systeme zu erhöhen sowie ein effizientes Wiederverwenden von Komponenten oder Teilsystemen in neuen Projekten zu ermöglichen.

Grafik safeTbox - Hazard Analysis, Fraunhofer IESE
© Fraunhofer IESE
Grafik safeTbox - Hazard Analysis
Grafik safeTbox: Safety Argumentation, Fraunhofer IESE
© Fraunhofer IESE
Grafik safeTbox: Safety Argumentation

Darüber hinaus bietet safeTbox eine Reihe von Features zur Verbesserung der Benutzerfreundlichkeit und zur teilweisen Automatisierung. Neben der vereinfachten Navigation durch Elementstrukturen wird der Benutzer von safeTbox unter anderem durch Konsistenzprüfungen in Bezug auf Elementschnittstellen, die Möglichkeit zum Bearbeiten und Exportieren der Modellelemente in tabellarischer Form oder Kompatibilität zwischen Projekten unterschiedlicher safeTbox Versionen unterstützt.

Kostenlose Test-Lizenz für safeTbox

safeTbox ist eine Erweiterung des kommerziellen Modellierungswerkzeugs Enterprise Architect (EA). Entsprechend ist EA zur Verwendung von safeTbox unabdingbar. Allerdings stehen so auch alle durch EA gebotenen Features zur Verfügung. Weitere Informationen und ein EA-Beispielprojekt sind auf der offiziellen safeTbox-Webseite zu finden, von wo auch eine kostenlose Test-Lizenz bezogen werden kann.