Competencies


Fraunhofer IESE develops innovative methods and solutions for the development of high-quality, complex information systems and embedded systems. In order to offer an immediate added value, we apply our methods directly during our customers‘ product development, respectively transfer our methods and solutions to our customers. In research, we perform contract research for our customers and conduct research in public projects. We have customized our competencies and aligned them with the challenges faced by our customers in the information systems and embedded systems domains. The new systems of systems, which link information systems and embedded systems, are addressed by our research focus on Smart Ecosystems. As basic competencies for all system classes, we are offering support in the field of Process Management.

Our core competencies:

  • Safety
  • Security
  • User Experience
  • Requirements
  • Architecture
  • Processes

 

Safety

The increasing interconnection among very diverse systems creates new opportunities in terms of new applications and services. The potential is enormous, but in many areas it is indispensable to provide safety assurance – which may by a show stopper. Ultimately, however, only a safe product is really a product!

 

Security

With Security Engineering, Fraunhofer IESE aims to deal with and enforce security issues using customized methods, techniques, and construction principles throughout the entire system lifecycle – from requirements analysis and design via implementation, testing, and operation all the way to the decommissioning of the system.

 

User Experience

Functionality and good usability of a software system are no longer sufficient for a company to be successful with its users. Innovative companies design their systems such that they support users effectively and efficiently while also generating a positive User Experience (UX).

 

Requirements

Requirements Engineering (RE) is the basis that ensures that software will actually do what it is designed to do, and that it can be used successfully and without any problems. However, one-time elicitation of technical software features is not all there is to it. Rather, Requirements Engineering is a holistic design and decision process that accompanies the entire software (development) lifecycle.

 

Architecture

A powerful architecture will help you plan the features and quality properties of a system in a predictable way. You can control the realization on the code level and ensure that systems remain maintainable. This allows management to adhere to business constraints such as schedule and budget.

 

Processes

Quality management (QM) comprises various coordinated activities for leading and steering an organization in terms of quality, emphasizing activities that companies use to determine their quality goals and responsibilities on different levels of management.

Kompetenzen

Wir haben unsere Kompetenzen auf die Herausforderungen unserer Kunden in den Bereichen Information Systems und Embedded Systeme ausgerichtet und zugeschnitten. Die neuen Systeme von Systemen, die Informationssysteme und eingebettete Systeme verbinden, adressieren wir mit unserem Forschungsschwerpunkt Smart Ecosystems. Als Basiskompetenzen für alle Systemklassen bieten wir Unterstützung im Bereich Process Management.

Mehr zum Fraunhofer IESE und unserer Formel für Ihren Erfolg lesen Sie in unserem Flyer.

 

Safety

Die zunehmende Vernetzung von verschiedenartigsten Systemen eröffnet vielfältige Möglichkeiten hinsichtlich neuer Anwendungen und Dienste. Das Potenzial ist gewaltig, allerdings ist in vielen Bereichen die Gewährleistung von Sicherheit unabdingbar und ein möglicher Show-Stopper. Letztlich ist nur ein sicheres Produkt auch tatsächlich ein Produkt!

 

Security

Mit Security Engineering verfolgt das Fraunhofer IESE das Ziel, Sicherheitsbelange mit maßgeschneiderten Methoden, Techniken und Konstruktionsprinzipen entlang des gesamten Systemlebenszyklus zu verfolgen und durchzusetzen — von Anforderungsanalyse und Entwurf über Implementierung, Test und Betrieb bis hin zur Außerdienststellung des Systems.

 

User Experience

Funktionalität und gute Usability eines Softwaresystems alleine reichen für ein Unternehmen nicht mehr aus, um bei seinen Benutzern Erfolg zu haben. Innovative Unternehmen entwerfen ihre Systeme so, dass nicht nur die Benutzer effektiv und effizient unterstützt werden, sondern dass auch eine positive User Experience (UX) erzeugt wird.

 

Requirements Engineering

Das Requirements Engineering (RE) bildet die Grundlage dafür, dass eine Software auch wirklich das leistet, was sie leisten soll, und dass sie erfolgreich und problemlos benutzt werden kann. Mit der einmaligen Erfassung technischer Software-Features ist es aber noch lange nicht getan. Vielmehr ist Requirements Engineering ein ganzheitlicher Gestaltungs- und Entscheidungsprozess, der den gesamten Software(entwicklungs)lebenszyklus begleitet.

 

Architektur

Eine leistungsfähige Architektur hilft Ihnen dabei, die Features und Qualitätseigenschaften eines Systems vorhersagbar zu planen. Sie können die Verwirklichung auf der Code-Ebene kontrollieren und dafür sorgen, dass Systeme wartbar bleiben. Dadurch kann das Management geschäftliche Rahmenbedingungen, z.B. zeitlicher und finanzieller Art, einhalten.

 

Prozesse

Im Kompetenzbereich „Prozesse“ beschäftigen wir uns damit, wie Ihr Unternehmen aufgestellt sein muss, um diesen Herausforderungen prozesstechnisch zu begegnen. Unsere Prozessingenieure verfolgen einen Best-Practice-orientierten Ansatz.

 

Data

Unsere Dateningenieure im Kompetenzbereich „Data“ wissen, wie ein Unternehmen aufgestellt sein muss, um diesen Herausforderungen durch die systematische Erfassung und intelligente Analyse von Daten und Informationen zu begegnen.